SJLibrary.org, a collaboration of San Jose State University and San Jose Public Library system.

homeServicesResearchPaths to LearningAbout Us

San José Public Library Articles & Databases: General Subject Areas

Databases A-Z
Find Articles in Multiple Databases with One Search


If you search from home, you will be asked to enter your library card/PIN to see your search results.
 
SJPL databases are available:
• Inside all SJPL branch libraries
• At home with an SJ Library card

For help, please Ask a Librarian

Suggest a Purchase for databases not listed here. On that form, under Format of Material select Database.

Database Subjects — Select a Subject to see its databases on this page below

Art & Music
Articles in Magazines & Newspapers
Books & Literature
Business
Computers & Technology
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
eBooks
Education, Careers, & Testing
en Español
Health
History & Geography
Home & Garden
Law
Library Catalogs
People
Sciences
Social Sciences
Student Resources
Important Note

SJSU databases and these SJPL databases are both available to all library users at the King Library.



Art & Music

Back to top

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

FedFlix [Internet Archive] (Open Access)  More details

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Music Collections Database (Open Access in-house database)  More details

San Jose Mercury News Website (Free access to articles from the past seven days)FullText  More details


Articles in Magazines & Newspapers

Back to top

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Articles from Magazines, Journals & Newspapers [EBSCO]FullTextNew  More details

Directory of Open Access JournalsFullText  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Newspaper Source PlusFullTextNew  More details

Points of View Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

San Jose Mercury News (SJPL) (Full-text newspaper articles, 1985-)FullText  More details

San Jose Mercury News Clipping File, 1920-1985  More details

San Jose Mercury News Website (Free access to articles from the past seven days)FullText  More details

World Journal (Chinese Newspaper)FullText  More details


Books & Literature

Back to top

Academic Earth - Video lectures from the world's top scholars (Open Access)  More details

Find a Book with Lexiles (Open Access)  More details

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full TextFullTextNew  More details

Literary Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

MyiLibraryFullTextNew  More details

NoveList K-8 Plus (Recommended reading for kids)New  More details

NoveList Plus (Recommended reading)New  More details


Business

Back to top

Academic Earth - Video lectures from the world's top scholars (Open Access)  More details

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Business Source Complete with Regional Business NewsFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

netLibrary eBooks (SJPL)FullText  More details

ReferenceUSA (Business Database)  More details

Rich's Online Directory (California)  More details

San Jose Mercury News Website (Free access to articles from the past seven days)FullText  More details


Computers & Technology

Back to top

Academic Earth - Video lectures from the world's top scholars (Open Access)  More details

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Computer SourceFullTextNew  More details

Consumer Reports Articles via EBSCOFullTextNew  More details

CustomGuide Online Software Training (First time users will need to create an account.)  More details

FedFlix [Internet Archive] (Open Access)  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Safari Tech Books Online (SJPL)  More details


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to top

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

World Book Biography CenterFullTextNew  More details

World Book Kids (Content from the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia)  More details

World Book Online Reference Center - See World Book StudentFullText  More details

World Book StudentFullText  More details


eBooks

Back to top

FedFlix [Internet Archive] (Open Access)  More details

Learning Express Library eBooksFullText  More details

Missions of California eBooks  More details

MyiLibraryFullTextNew  More details

netLibrary eBooks (SJPL)FullText  More details

OverDrive Digital Library  More details

Safari Tech Books Online (SJPL)  More details

TumbleBook Library  More details


Education, Careers, & Testing

Back to top

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

CustomGuide Online Software Training (First time users will need to create an account.)  More details

Learning Express Library [tutorials - practice tests - ebooks]FullText  More details

Learning Express Library eBooksFullText  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Vocational and Career CollectionFullTextNew  More details


en Español

Back to top

La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos en Línea (Spanish Student Discovery Encyclopedia Online)FullText  More details

Learning Express Library eBooksFullText  More details

Salud en EspañolFullTextNew  More details


Health

Back to top

Consumer Health CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Consumer Reports Articles via EBSCOFullTextNew  More details

Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionFullTextNew  More details

Magill's Medical Guide OnlineFullTextNew  More details

MedlinePlus (Open Access health information)FullText  More details

Points of View Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

PubMed (SJPL)  More details

Salud en EspañolFullTextNew  More details


History & Geography

Back to top

Academic Earth - Video lectures from the world's top scholars (Open Access)  More details

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

California Room Local History Database (Open Access; In-house database)  More details

FedFlix [Internet Archive] (Open Access)  More details

History Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

King Library Local History Digital Collections (Open Access; In-house database)New  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Missions of California eBooks  More details

Sanborn Maps  More details


Home & Garden

Back to top

Consumer Reports Articles via EBSCOFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

San Jose Mercury News Website (Free access to articles from the past seven days)FullText  More details


Law

Back to top

Academic Earth - Video lectures from the world's top scholars (Open Access)  More details

Legal CollectionFullTextNew  More details

netLibrary eBooks (SJPL)FullText  More details

Points of View Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details


Library Catalogs

Back to top

WorldCat (Open Access)  More details


People

Back to top

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Biography Collection CompleteFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

World Book Biography CenterFullTextNew  More details

World Book StudentFullText  More details


Sciences

Back to top

Academic Earth - Video lectures from the world's top scholars (Open Access)  More details

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Magill's Medical Guide OnlineFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Science Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details


Social Sciences

Back to top

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

FedFlix [Internet Archive] (Open Access)  More details

Legal CollectionFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Points of View Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

Religion & Philosophy CollectionFullTextNew  More details


Student Resources

Back to top

Academic Earth - Video lectures from the world's top scholars (Open Access)  More details

Academic Search CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Biography Collection CompleteFullTextNew  More details

Business Source Complete with Regional Business NewsFullTextNew  More details

Consumer Health CompleteFullTextNew  More details

FedFlix [Internet Archive] (Open Access)  More details

Find a Book with Lexiles (Open Access)  More details

Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionFullTextNew  More details

History Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextFullTextNew  More details

Kids SearchFullTextNew  More details

King Library Local History Digital Collections (Open Access; In-house database)New  More details

Learning Express Library [tutorials - practice tests - ebooks]FullText  More details

Learning Express Library eBooksFullText  More details

Legal CollectionFullTextNew  More details

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full TextFullTextNew  More details

Literary Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

Magill's Medical Guide OnlineFullTextNew  More details

MasterFILE PremierFullTextNew  More details

Missions of California eBooks  More details

Newspaper Source PlusFullTextNew  More details

NoveList K-8 Plus (Recommended reading for kids)New  More details

NoveList Plus (Recommended reading)New  More details

Points of View Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

Religion & Philosophy CollectionFullTextNew  More details

San Jose Mercury News Website (Free access to articles from the past seven days)FullText  More details

Science Reference CenterFullTextNew  More details

SearchasaurusFullTextNew  More details

Student Research CenterFullTextNew  More details

TumbleBook Library  More details

Vocational and Career CollectionFullTextNew  More details

World Book Biography CenterFullTextNew  More details

World Book Kids (Content from the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia)  More details

World Book Online Reference Center - See World Book StudentFullText  More details

World Book StudentFullText  More details



This page last updated August 21, 2009 by the Web Team

Bottom Links