The link below provides a list of textbooks for the current semester that are available to students for free as library ebooks. For other assigned reading that may be available in the library, check the course reserves catalog by course or professor and OneSearch.
Search for Books
The most direct way to search for a book in our collections is to enter the title into OneSearch, our main library catalog.
You may also wish to browse our ebook collections from specific vendors.
-
Cambridge University Press Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed academic journals across disciplines. The library subscribes to some journals and ebooks. You may refine your search to just content the library owns or just open access in the advanced search screen.
-
Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers ebooks covering many subjects. View the helpful libguide to learn more. The platform is integrated with your SJSUOne account
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust provides keyword search capabilities for millions of digitized books both in and out of copyright and the ability to download full volumes of public domain works. Eligible members with disabilities may qualify to receive digitized in-copyright works. Click the Log In button and select San Jose State University from the partner institution drop-down menu. The platform is integrated with your SJSUOne account.
-
O’Reilly Online Learning E-books This link opens in a new window
A curated library of the best technical books today—including titles from Pearson, O’Reilly Media, and more—organized by the most popular subjects, from web development and mobile apps to entrepreneurship and UX/IA, and more. SJSU subscribes to 49,000+ items.
Instructions for signing in:
Type in your SJSU email address and click on the password field (do not enter your password here).
A "sign in with SSO" button will display
Click "sign in with SSO" button. -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
-
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering the Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences. Library subscription also includes access to many ebooks and conference proceedings.
-
Taylor & Francis ebooks This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis publishes books for all levels of academic study across a wide range of subjects and disciplines.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of e-journals and ebooks covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Textbooks available as eBooks in the Library
Search the SJSU Library Catalog to find books, e-books, articles, journals
Sign in with your SJSUOne ID and password to get full access
Can't find the book? Request it through:
-
CSU CollectionsSJSU students, faculty, and staff have access to over 29 million books across the entire CSU, right from within OneSearch. You can request books from any of the other 22 California State University libraries and have them delivered to the SJSU Library within 2-5 days.
-
ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.
-
WorldCatSearch many libraries in your community and thousands more around the world all at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby.
Check the San Jose Public Library for books. It also includes Link+ connections to other college and public libraries.
Can't find the books or articles? Request it through:
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.