About Research Instruments:
Research Instruments are assessments, scales, questionnaires, measures, surveys, inventories, and tests used in qualitative and quantitative research. This guide contains resources that may assist you as you search. Be cognizant of copyright and the need to obtain permission to use an already developed instrument as you search for research instruments. If you have questions about the use of instruments in research and their appropriateness and/or copyright, contact your instructor/department for further guidelines.
Finding research instruments
The SJSU Library has several resources that can be used to identify assessments and other instrumentsto support research and patient-care. Caution: you may need to contact the author or publisher of a tool to 1) have access to the complete instrument and 2) get permission to reuse it.
Start With...
-
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
A collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences. PsycTESTS indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments— including aptitude tests, personality scales, and cognitive functioning measures.
Then Try...
-
HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences and information about behavioral measurement instruments. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. Limited to 1 simultaneous user
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
This database provides users with a comprehensive guide to 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments. Critical reviews and descriptive information for English-language commercially available standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas (as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbook). Limited to 4 simultaneous users
-
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
Psychiatric clinicians should use rating scales and questionnaires often, for they not only facilitate targeted diagnoses and treatment; they also facilitate links to empirical literature and systematize the entire process of management. Clinically oriented and highly practical, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an ideal tool for the busy psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, family physician, or social worker. In this ground-breaking text, leading researchers provide reviews of the most commonly used outcome and screening measures for the major psychiatric diagnoses and treatment scenarios. The full range of psychiatric disorders are covered in brief but thorough chapters, each of which provides a concise review of measurement issues related to the relevant condition, along with recommendations on which dimensions to measure and when. The Handbook also includes ready-to-photocopy versions of the most popular, valid, and reliable scales and checklists, along with scoring keys and links to websites containing on-line versions. Moreover, the Handbook describes well known, structured, diagnostic interviews and the specialized training requirements for each. It also includes details of popular psychological tests (such as neuropsychological, personality, and projective tests), along with practical guidelines on when to request psychological testing, how to discuss the case with the assessment consultant and how to integrate information from the final testing report into treatment. Focused and immensely useful, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an invaluable resource for all clinicians who care for patients with psychiatric disorders."
Call Number: ebook (SJSU log-in required)ISBN: 1282828711Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Getting permission
Question: Do I need permission to use an instrument that I found online?
Answer: It depends. If in the instrument the author/publisher clearly states that it is freely available, then you're OK! Go ahead and use the instrument.
If the instrument policy is unknown or vague, or if the full instrument is not available -only mentioned or described- you'll need to reach out to the copyright holder.
TIPS:
- Look for the "Original Version Author" and corresponding contact information in the references of the publication the instrument was mentioned in and/or any websites where information about the instrument is offered. The PsycTESTS and HAPI databases are good places to start looking for this information.
- If a contact form is offered, fill that out. If not, write an email to the owner(s) stating your intention and which instrument (make sure you get the name correct!) you wish to obtain / use. If possible, use your sjsu.edu email address.
- Identify yourself as a student or member of an academic organization. Make it clear that you will not use the instrument for commercial purposes.
- Keep a record of permissions granted, permissions denied or no response. If you don't receive a response after a few weeks, send another email.