Faculty Profiles and Websites at SJSU
After May, 2024, the SJSU Library will no longer be able to support faculty profiles created on the Expert Gallery Suite platform, due to the retirement of that platform by the service provider. All articles,book chapters, datasets, pedagogical materials, and other content uploaded to those profiles will continue to be available in SJSU ScholarWorks, and no SJSU ScholarWorks collections will be affected by the change.
This guide is intended for SJSU faculty members interested in quick and easy options for personal profile pages, or in the variety of faculty webpages available to SJSU faculty.
ORCID
We recommend ORCID for faculty profiles.
ORCID is an international standard in research information, and it is likely that many faculty already have an ORCID ID. From the faculty perspective, ORCID is also one of the easiest ways to create and maintain an accurate and complete profile which lists all of your works and publications. In ORCID you can import works from many other databases to complete your profile.
If you run into any questions while working with ORCID, we are here to help - please contact nick.szydlowski@sjsu.edu with your questions, or use the link on my profile to book an appointment. ORCID also provides excellent documentation.
-
ORCID DocumentationDocumentation for creating and maintaining your ORCID profile.
Create and Maintain your ORCID Profile - SJSU Library Workshop
Other SJSU Profiles
Faculty at SJSU may have several profiles on different SJSU websites. The links below provide more information about some of these profile locations.
-
SJSU Newscenter: Media Guide to ExpertsThese profiles, maintained by University Marketing and Communications, provide a place for reporters and members of the media to connect with faculty experts.
-
SJSU Faculty IndexSelf-managed profile pages on the SJSU website.
-
SJSU Faculty WebsitesAnother location for faculty webpages at SJSU.
Additionally, SJSU departments, schools, and colleges often maintain faculty directories and profile pages as part of their own websites.
Other Profile Platforms and Services
While ORCID occupies a unique place in the world of research and publication, there are dozens of other services and websites that allow faculty to create profile pages, and even many sites that create profile pages without requiring any input from faculty. We are always happy to help faculty navigate the many options out there for maintaining a presence online.
This section lists a few of the profile options that we have found are most valuable for SJSU faculty, with a focus on platforms that provide helpful metrics that faculty may need for review processes and when applying for funding. The recommended profiles require little or no effort to maintain, and are a good supplement to ORCID for many faculty members.
-
Google Scholar ProfilesGoogle Scholar Profiles allow you to claim your works on Google Scholar. Profiles include publications and display citation counts for individual items and in the aggregate. Compared to other platforms on this list, Google Scholar has broader coverage in books, book chapters, humanities disciplines, and publications outside the US and Western Europe. If your work is likely to be cited in those publications, Google Scholar may help you find citations that are not visible in other databases.
-
Scopus Author ProfilesScopus Author Profiles use the data in Elsevier's Scopus database to provide citation metrics and publication lists. Scopus creates these profiles for all authors, but you can request changes if your profile is not accurate.
-
Web of Science Researcher ProfilesClarivate's Web of Science offers free researcher profles which display citation and impact metrics from Web of Science. You can claim your profile and sync it to your ORCID account for easier maintenance.
-
DimensionsDimensions is another research information system that contains author profiles. Like Scopus and Web of Science, Dimension uses advanced metrics to compare your work to other articles on similar topics. Anecdotally, the metrics that Dimensions uses may be more granular, and as a result more accurate for publications in smaller and emerging sub-fields. If your work is in an emerging field, Dimensions may be a good supplement to other metrics databases.