Communication Studies

Learn how to narrow your search, save your results, get citations in the correct format and more in Academic Search Complete.

Learn what an annotated bibliography is and how to write one.

Learn how to go from a vague idea of what you'd like to research to a strong, specific topic.

A time management tool that helps keep your research project on schedule.

Learn how to use Citation Linker, a tool that helps you find the full text of an article when all you have is the citation

Learn how to customize Google Scholar so you can use SJSU GetText.

Academic Search Complete is one of the world's largest educational databases. Discover how to use its search feature to find full-text articles.

CQ Researcher is a weekly publication that covers current and controversial issues in in-depth and neutral research reports, written by professional journalists and heavily fact checked.

Opposing Viewpoints is a collection of pro-con resources around various current events and social topics.

ProQuest News & Newspapers database is the full collection of all of ProQuest's newspaper database.

A collection of tutorials from EBSCO on databases like Biography Reference Center, CINAHL, MedLine and Nove List.

A collection of YouTube videos on how to search the ERIC database.

Learn how to tell if a website is a reputable source by examining its authority, timeliness and objectivity.

Use OneSearch to find the books and articles you need.

Academic Search Complete is one of the world’s largest educational databases. Discover how to use it to find full-text articles.

A quick introduction on how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles using SJSU's databases.

Learn how to use a call number to find the book you want on the shelves.

Learn where and how to search, the difference between scholarly and popular works, how to refine topics, evaluate information, cite sources, and use GetText.

How to place an Interlibrary Loan request to receive articles, books or other items not owned by the King Library.

Orientation videos for the SJSU iSchool students.

A complete list of iSchool tutorials

An orientation to the Master's of Archives and Records Administration program.

Learn how to find the permanent URL for articles, databases, and other resources.

Explores plagiarism, paraphrasing, and citing sources. Includes a pre-test, graded quiz, and paraphrasing practice exercises.

Designed for graduate students, this tutorial has three modules: Why Not Plagiarize, Avoiding Plagiarism, Copyright Infringement and Fair Use

How to identify and locate primary research articles in the science disciplines.

Short videos on how to use the Proquest database platform.

A short tutorial on using Find It, a service that allows you to find full-text articles even when they're not in the database you're searching.

Tutorials available in a variety of languages demonstrate the basics of searching the Web of Science database and using its Citation Reports.

Learn how to research, structure and write a literature review paper that synthesizes the key theories and results in your field of study.

A key part of any research paper is the literature review section. Learn how to research, structure and write this important part of your project.