Find Articles / Databases
-
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases. Here is a research guide to help you get started.
-
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Collection includes the full-text of all ASME journals from 1990 to present. ASME’s conference proceedings and e-books are searchable, but are not available full-text.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library Core (DLC) offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of computing. Its peer-reviewed publications emphasize theoretical and experimental research, while its magazines highlight practical applications in areas such as research, design, and specification.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Covers electrical, electronic and computer engineering information in IEEE and IEE journals, magazines & conference proceedings. Note: You may see a green unlock icon that indicates full text access. WARNING: systematic downloads of the IEEE database or portions of the database are against the license agreement and will result in loss of access. Additionally, you may receive the following message: "You are viewing this page because you have reached a vendor mandated download limit."
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
-
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of e-journals and ebooks covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
-
arXiv.orgElectronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library.
-
engrXiv PreprintsOpen access of Engineering Archive directed by a steering committee of engineers and engineering librarians.
Follow this step-by-step procedure to connect Google Scholar to SJSU GetText within the university databases.
Go to Customizing Google Scholar (3 minute tutorial).
Set your preferences in Google Scholar.
- Click on Settings at the top of the page and then choose Library Links on the left and search for San Jose State University.
- Select "San Jose State University –SJSU GetText" and click the Save button.
- Also, under "Settings" and "Search Results" you can set the Bibliography Manager to "RefWorks" and "Save" to import citations from Google Scholar directly into RefWorks.
Can't get article full-text?
Database Tutorials
-
Using Find ItFind It is a service that allows you to find full-text articles even when they're not in the database you're searching. This tutorial provides a brief introduction to using Find It to access the articles you need.
-
Find Books and Articles Using OneSearchUse OneSearch to find the books and articles you need.
-
Engineering Village Database Search StrategiesLearn how to find articles in the Engineering Village database
-
IEEE Xplore Database Search StrategiesLearn how to search the IEEE Xplore database for information on your topic.
-
Web of Science Database Search StrategiesLearn how to find articles in the Web of Science database
-
Database GuidesOnline tutorials for databases - ScienceDirect, Web of Science, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, and others