Standards & Patents
-
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe library includes journals, 12,900 standards, technical publications, manual, proceedings and bulletins that cover these engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.
-
IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
IEEE standards are a set of technical specifications and guidelines established by the IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) to ensure interoperability, quality, and safety in various fields of engineering. This growing collection of IEEE standards includes active, drafts, and archived versions. Note: You may see a green unlock icon that indicates full text access.
External Links to Standards
A 70+ volume compilation of full-text standards published by American Society for Testing and Materials. Latest edition on the 2nd floor in Reference.
ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
Anon-profit organization (501 (c) 3) that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system.
A world leader in the development and dissemination of voluntary, consensus-based industry standards involving today's leading-edge electrotechnology. Search IEEE Xplore for specific standards.
A collection of Standards documents managed by NASA.
NIST (National Institute of Standards & Technology)
A federal technology agency that develops and promotes measurement, standards, and technology.
Patent searching can reveal information about a process, technology, or product that may otherwise be proprietary or a trade secret.
Looking for specialized keywords and industrial jargon? Try searching Patents.
-
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)Search for full text of US patents and patent applications, and trademarks. 1790-1995 patents are TIFF images only.
-
Trademark Database- Search for trademarks through the USPTO.
-
U.S. Patents via GoogleGoogle can also be used to search the USPTO.
-
Silicon Valley U. S. Patent and Trademark OfficeSupported by a USPTO program and expert staff, PTDLs are the primary personalized channel for the distribution of patent and trademark information to the public.
-
U. K. PatentsThe official website for Intellectual Property in the United Kingdom.
-
Intellectual Property Digital LibrarySearch the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) for international patent and trademark registrations.