Find Articles / Databases
-
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases. Here is a research guide to help you get started.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Covers electrical, electronic and computer engineering information in IEEE and IEE journals, magazines & conference proceedings. Note: You may see a green unlock icon that indicates full text access. WARNING: systematic downloads of the IEEE database or portions of the database are against the license agreement and will result in loss of access. Additionally, you may receive the following message: "You are viewing this page because you have reached a vendor mandated download limit."
-
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
-
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Collection includes the full-text of all ASME journals from 1990 to present. ASME’s conference proceedings and e-books are searchable, but are not available full-text.
-
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos. The types of information include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library Core (DLC) offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of computing. Its peer-reviewed publications emphasize theoretical and experimental research, while its magazines highlight practical applications in areas such as research, design, and specification.
Follow this step-by-step procedure to connect Google Scholar to SJSU GetText within the university databases.
Go to Customizing Google Scholar (3 minute tutorial).
Set your preferences in Google Scholar.
- Click on Settings at the top of the page and then choose Library Links on the left and search for San Jose State University.
- Select "San Jose State University –SJSU GetText" and click the Save button.
- Also, under "Settings" and "Search Results" you can set the Bibliography Manager to "RefWorks" and "Save" to import citations from Google Scholar directly into RefWorks.
Can't get article full-text?
Database Tutorials
-
Using Find ItFind It is a service that allows you to find full-text articles even when they're not in the database you're searching. This tutorial provides a brief introduction to using Find It to access the articles you need.
-
Find Books and Articles Using OneSearchUse OneSearch to find the books and articles you need.
-
Engineering Village Database Search StrategiesLearn how to find articles in the Engineering Village database
-
IEEE Xplore Database Search StrategiesLearn how to search the IEEE Xplore database for information on your topic.
-
Web of Science Database Search StrategiesLearn how to find articles in the Web of Science database
-
Database GuidesOnline tutorials for databases - ScienceDirect, Web of Science, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, and others