Journalism & Mass Communications

This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.

Access to product evaluations, interviews, full text articles, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

The ABI/INFORM Collection includes three comprehensive databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Together, they provide access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business and economics publications such as The Economist and MIT Sloan Management Review. The collection also features in-depth country and industry reports, as well as major news sources like The Wall Street Journal. With broad international coverage, the ABI/INFORM Collection offers researchers a global view of companies, industries, and business trends. It also delivers valuable historical context, with content that dates back to the early 1900s.

Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications,

Thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets, 200 business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making. Thousands of interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations.

General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries. Also includes color photos from Reuters and Knight-Ridder publications, company reports, SEC filings, web contents, and transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR and more.

Business news from local English-language business journals, newspapers and newswires covering many metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

IBISWorld provides in-depth reports on over 700 industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. U.S. Specialized Industry Reports cover niche and emerging industries. Global Industry Reports provide world industry analysis. Subscription includes:

US Industry NAICS Reports
US Specialized Industry Reports
US iExpert summary reports
US Specialized iExpert summary reports
State Industry Reports
State Economic profiles
Global Industry Reports
China Industry Reports
Pan EU Industry Reports
Business environment profiles
Business environment profile - CA.
Inflation Tracker tool

2,500 in-depth company profiles including operations, officers, strategies, competitors, histories, locations, products & brand names, and financial information.

Campus Research is an online source for news, law-related, and business information. It provides access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register (July, 1980-present), state statutes and administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) 2nd-5th and federal series, and more than 900 law journals and reviews.

HeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,200 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, and much more.

Provides indexing for 1,200+ major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including 200+ titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac​​​​​​​, its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

Country Wire (newswires from around the globe) and Country Reviews (full-text reports on 190+ countries). Includes politics, economics, environment, geography.

Basic information and statistics on countries of the world in many categories (maps, people, geography, economy, government, transportation, communications, military, etc.)

General information on countries of the world, including overviews of the culture, environment, history, and government.

This database combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).

Offers 600,000+ biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a full-text database that contains the complete text of the thirty-three printed volumes as well as all its supplements. Over 55,000 lives are detailed, and over 10,000 portraits are included, with online updates taking place three times each year.

A comprehensive index to more than 10 million biographical sketches in over 1000 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Biographical content from periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases, plus select other titles.

Marquis Who's Who on the Web provides up-to-the-minute biographies of approximately 1.4 million leaders and achievers from around the world, past and present, in all fields of endeavor including business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment and more.

Finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.

Contains 12,000+ primary and secondary sources, including 1,200 documents, 4,000 images, 200 maps, and 200 audio/video recordings covering the United States government and political system, including such topics as national security, civil rights, immigration, and health care reform.. This database American Government also provides over 2,100 biographies of important historical and current government figures.

Search and browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses. This collection covers such historical events as Lewis and Clark’s Expedition, Burr’s Conspiracy and Arrest, the Treaty of the Creek Indians made by Andrew Jackson and much more. Also includes speeches and messages of Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison.  Note:  Please refer to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 database for post 1816 documents.

A multi-disciplinary, comprehensive source which includes previously classified government documents from the White House and a variety of U.S. government agencies during post World War II through the 1970s. Also explores the political, economic, and social conditions during domestic and foreign events. Includes documents from presidential libraries.

The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Statistics are organized by themes, or topics, making it easier for you to find what you need.

Presents statistical & quantitative history of the United States from the earliest times to the present. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.

Social Explorer is a web-based mapping and data visualization tool that allows you to explore 500,000+ data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets. The interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand markets, voting, poverty, aging populations, ethnicity and race, spending patterns, health indicators, crime, environment, education, and more.

Provides access to over 1 million statistics for these topics: industries; consumer goods; internet; media & advertising; retail & trade; sports & recreation; technology & telecommunications; transportation & logistics; and travel, tourism & hospitality. Also available are government statistics, such as unemployment rates, births, and deaths. For business research, outlook reports, market research reports, country reports, dossiers, surveys, and industry reports are available. Note:  The platform is integrated with your SJSUOne account

The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives. All C-SPAN programs since 1993 are digital and can be viewed online for free. Duplicate copies of programs that have aired since 1987 can be obtained and used for education, research, review or home viewing purposes.

Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

CALSPEAKS* at Sacramento State is a unique and ongoing academic investigation of public opinion in California, emphasizing the social, economic, political, and environmental issues that distinguish our state. Learn more about CALSPEAKS

This dictionary includes more than 75,000 definitions, pronunciation guides and word histories for English words.

Traces the evolution of the English language over the last millennium and includes definitions, history, and pronunciation of over half a million English words, present and past.

The Oxford Reference Online Premium contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press.

Index to popular magazines, covering all subjects and such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, and science.

A detailed account of U.S. culture and history based on the print reference Readers’ Guide. Presenting a rich account of U.S. cultural history, Readers’ Guide Retrospective is the online equivalent of 44 Readers’ Guide annuals.

SAGE Research Methods contains books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. The collection provides case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. Videos contain tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Note:  Faculty who wish to use “Teaching Notes” will need to create a profile and use a verification code.  Contact Ann Agee or Christine Holmes for the verification code.

Includes basic information on periodicals, journals, magazines, annuals, and other serials.

Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online delivers 66,000+ titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

A collection of independent, social-issue and environmental films from renowned leaders in documentary film Note: To see which videos the library currently has, click on the Log In link at the website, select San Jose State University, click log in and select My Movies. These titles are also in OneSearch.

Distributes online educational videos including documentaries, films, interviews plus a range of short video series. The videos are arranged by collections: Arts, Business, Communication/Media, Education (K-12), Health, Humanities, Science. Note: SJSU students, staff, and faculty: You will be asked to authenticate on and off campus. Kanopy uses copyright protection and DRM technology to block video streaming over platforms like Zoom. As a result, screen sharing is not permitted for restricted titles—viewers must watch individually, either outside of class or on their own devices during class. When screen sharing via Zoom, only the presenter is authenticated, so others will see a blank screen.

This collection of 1,300+ streaming videos includes documentaries and series from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Explore the areas of art and design, Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies, architecture, urban planning, philosophy, geography and religion, modern languages and literatures, music, theatre, film and cultural studies. and more. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies

Encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and more.

Provides full text for hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This resource is for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. This subscription is supported by an NEH Challenge Grant:  "Any views, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this database do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities."

Full-text scholarly articles in literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, social science, mathematics.

A collection of scholarly humanities titles offered in collaboration with 30+ learned societies, 100+ contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office.

Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines.

Indexing a wide range of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences content for nearly 1,200 periodicals, 1,300,000+ citations and over 240,000 book reviews.

Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society, a library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provides rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.