Get Started
This guide will help you get started finding resources for your research in public health. In order to gain access to articles and databases, you need to know that Your library account is the same as your SJSUOne Account (Student/Faculty ID # and your SJSUOne Password)
Set up an ILLiad account with Interlibrary Loan so you can request articles from journals not owned by SJSU Library.
This is a FREE service, if we are not able to get the article because of the cost, we will let you know.
For Department please select Health Science.
Citation managers, such as Zotero and PaperPile are programs that allow users to collect, organize, and cite sources. They also allow for collaboration and some provide the ability to store and annotate PDFs within the system.
Why should you use a citation manager?
-
Organize sources using folders, tags, and even group libraries for collaboration with people across the world.
- Many have browser extensions or integration with library software to make it easy to collect items with your research so you don't forget about the paper you saw 10 pages ago.
-
Many integrate with Google Docs and/or Microsoft Word to make it easy to cite sources while writing.
To learn more about citation managers and to get started, please visit library.sjsu.edu/citationmanagers/home.
-
Access Course Reserve MaterialsNeed to access materials set aside by your Professor?
-
Interlibrary ServicesContact Interlibrary Services for help with your ILLiad account and requests.
-
Library Account ProblemsContact Jeff Frank for help with your library account or call 408-808-2326.
-
CSU CollectionsSJSU students, faculty, and staff have access to over 29 million books across the entire CSU, right from within OneSearch. You can request books from any of the other 22 California State University libraries and have them delivered to the SJSU Library within 2-5 days.
-
Technical Support for Off-Campus AccessContact Student Computing Services for help troubleshooting your remote access to the SJSU library.
Recommended Databases
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowSearches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
-
Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced searching. Coverage is 1946 - present. Note: You have the option to create a personal account by navigating to "My workspace" and then, following the prompt to set up an account. This allows you to save results and more.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
-
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
Additional Resources
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, and much more.
-
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than 1000+ journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
-
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
A broad array of social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields that cover addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies, and much more.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCoverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
-
Health Promotion Practice Health Promotion Practice (HPP) is a bi-monthly, peer-reviewed journal that publishes authoritative research, commentary, practical tools, and promising practices that strategically advance the art and science of health promotion and disease
-
American Journal of Epidemiology The American Journal of Epidemiology is the oldest and one of the premier epidemiologic journals devoted to the publication of empirical research findings, opinion pieces, and methodological developments in the field of epidemiologic research. It is a peer-reviewed journal aimed at both fellow epidemiologists and those who use epidemiologic data, including public health workers and clinicians.
-
American Journal of Preventive Medicine The American Journal of Preventive Medicine is the official journal of the American College of Preventive Medicine and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research. It publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy. Original research is published on interventions aimed at the prevention of chronic and acute disease and the promotion of individual and community health.