Reference Sources
-
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and ArchitectureComprehensive coverage of Islamic art throughout the world including East, Central, and South Asia, Africa, and Europe. This resource contains over 1,600 entries on an incredible range of Islamic art topics scholars, collectors, and curators. Includes more than 500 illustrations (120 in color).
-
Heilbrun Timeline of Art HistoryThe Metropolitan Museum of Art provides thematic essays with images.
Books and Ebooks
-
Art of Islam
by
Islamic art is not the art of a nation or of a people, but that of a religion: Islam. Spreading from the Arabian Peninsula, the proselyte believers conquered, in a few centuries, a territory spreading from the Atlantic to the Indian Ocean. Multicultural and multi-ethnical, this polymorphic and highly spiritual art, in which all representation of Man and God were prohibited, developed canons and various motives of great decorative value. Thorough and inventive, these artists expressed their beliefs by creating monumental masterpieces such as the Al-Aqsa mosque in Jerusalem, the Taj Mahal in Agra and the Alhambra in Granada, architectural works in which one recognises the stylisation of motives of the Muslim ceramics. Lively and coloured, Islamic art mirrors the richness of these people whose common denominator was the belief in one singular truth: the absolute necessity of creating works whose beauty equaled their respect for God.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 1780429932Publication Date: 2012-05-08 -
Envisioning Islamic Art and Architecture
by
Envisioning Islamic Art and Architecture: Essays in Honor of Renata Holod is a collection of studies on the portable arts, arts of the book, painting, photography, and architecture spanning the medieval and modern periods and across the historical Islamic lands. The essays reflect the wide-ranging interests and diverse methodologies of Renata Holod and attend to the physical, material, and aesthetic properties of their objects, offer nuanced explanations of complex relations between objects and historical contexts, and remain critically aware of the shape of the field of Islamic art and architecture, its canonical objects, approaches, and historiographies. Essential reading for scholars working on Islam and the Islamic world in the disciplines of history of art and architecture, history, literature, and anthropology. With contributions by Mar a Judith Feliciano, Christiane Gruber, Leslee Katrina Michelsen, Nancy Micklewright, Stephennie Mulder, Johanna Olafsdotter, Yael Rice, Cynthia Robinson, David J. Roxburgh, D. Fairchild Ruggles, Alison Mackenzie Shah, and Pushkar Sohoni.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9004264027Publication Date: 2014-11-14 -
Islamic Art
by
This gorgeous survey of art from the Islamic world covers three continents and fourteen centuries. From its birth in the seventh century through modern times, the Islamic religion has inspired glorious works of art. This stunning book includes more than four hundred reproductions of treasures of Islamic art that span the world: from southern Europe, along the entire Mediterranean basin to sub-Saharan Africa through the Middle East, India, and Central Asia. Arranged geographically, the objects include paintings, miniatures, ceramics, calligraphy, textiles, carpets, and metal works. Each region is given a thorough introduction that offers historical context and extensive descriptions of its artifacts. Accompanying essays offer guidance in interpreting the many themes that tie these works together, including typology, calligraphy, and religious beliefs. Despite its wide-ranging history and origins, Islamic art is unified by its devotion to faith and beauty. With its large format, exquisite reproductions and extensive research, this book is a thorough introduction to an artistic tradition.
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor N6260 .M6913 2010ISBN: 9783791344553Publication Date: 2010-04-20 -
Early Islamic Art and Architecture
by
This volume deals with the formative period of Islamic art (to c. 950), and the different approaches to studying it. Individual essays deal with architecture, ceramics, coins, textiles, and manuscripts, as well as with such broad questions as the supposed prohibition of images, and the relationships between sacred and secular art. An introductory essay sets each work in context; it is complemented by a bibliography for further reading.
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor N6260 .E18 2002ISBN: 9780860787051Publication Date: 2002-05-28 -
-
Journals
-
Journal of Islamic ArchitectureA scientific publication for widespread research and criticism topics in Islamic architecture studies.
-
MuqarnasMuqarnas is the first academic journal devoted to art, architectural history, archaeology, as well as all aspects of Islamic visual and material cultures, historical and contemporary.
Articles
-
Mathematics and the Islamic Architecture of Córdoba byPublication Date: 2018
-
Historical timber as a sustainable material, Studies about Islamic architecture in Egypt byPublication Date: 2018