BUS5 187: Global Dimensions of Business

From Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, this page of the Census Bureau's site provides a direct link to more than 200 countries' official source of statistics dated back to 1950. Users can select up to 25 years of data. These agencies are normally part of the government itself and are the primary source of national data on population, economy, trade, and the other key data about the country itself. One caveat: Many of these sources are not in English.

This site provides a wealth of statistics from databases maintained by the World Bank such as World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. World Development Indicators (WDI) provides data across many categories such as education, the environment, health, and poverty. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides statistics about the economic and financial health of countries.

Users can search by countries or topics, such as bribery & corruptions, corporate government, industry & entrepreneurship, regulatory reform, tax, and trade, etc.
Reports are published by fDi Intelligence, is a specialist division of The Financial Times Ltd, “established to provide industry leading insight into globalization with a portfolio of world-class products, services and business” Click here for details.

Website of the Statistical Office of the European Communities, providing extensive statistical data and publications on European Union (EU) countries. Data includes inflation rates; EU policy indicators; general and regional statistics; economy and finance; population and social conditions; industry, trade and services; agriculture and fisheries; external trade; transport; environment and energy; and, science and technology.

Easy access to data and metadata for OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) and selected member countries, using four search methods. Search by: Keyword (with terms such as: Education, Finance, GDP, Health, Income, Prices, Population, or Trade), Theme, Country (via selection of key indicators in latest annual, Country Statistical Profiles), or by accessing your saved queries under “Browse Queries.”

Major reports on economic development, global finances, and investments, with statistical data and key information about countries worldwide. The World Investment Report focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development. This site is hosted by UNCTAD, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development.

United Nations statistical databases (32 in all, at last count) are accessible through a single entry point. These databases, tables and glossaries contain over 60 million data points and a wide range of themes, such as Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Tourism, Trade, and Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Develop a customized chart of world inflation at the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland site. Choose a Source (compare up to four countries or regions) and Frequency (monthly, quarterly, or yearly). View the chart or download data for 1990-today.