Communicative Disorders and Sciences

ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.

PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.

The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Download the user guide.

Note: Steps to create a personal account when off campus:
1. Go directly to the Cochrane library website  [bypassing your Tower ID authentication].
2. Use the "Sign in" link in the top right corner to either login to an existing account or create a new account.
a. New Accounts: Complete the registration process and SJSU email validation. Then login to your account
b. Existing customers: Log in using your Cochrane Library personal login and password.
3. When you successfully login, this information will appear in the top right corner as Signed in as "your name"
4. Once you complete this login, then return to The Cochrane Library using the link that requires your Tower ID authentication.

A database of intervention studies (Evidence based practice) across the scope of speech pathology practice. It currently lists all treatment research studies in the field of speech-language pathology (SLP). Each month, speechBITE staff search 8 databases (such as Medline, PsycINFO, CINAHL) and then only upload those papers which list empirical evidence and are relevant to SLP practice.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Alternative health research providing the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies through 190+ international, and often peer-reviewed, journals.

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.

Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports  and  Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.

Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note:  You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.

Primary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertations from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author.  Help Guide available.