Locating Books
Books are key resources for Art and Design Research. The SJSU books are now searchable in the OneSearch database. The San Jose Public Library collection is in the Library Catalog.
OneSearch
Suggested Titles
-
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
by
Call Number: SJSU Library Reference 2nd Floor NX650.M9 R45 1993ISBN: 0195049985 -
Encyclopedia of comparative iconography
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor N7560 .E53 1998ISBN: 1579580092Check OneSearch catalog for location of this source.
Databases for Art and Design journals
These databases access the journal literature for Art and Design. Use the Get Text link to locate specific articles that are not full text. Use Interlibrary Services to request articles SJSU does not own.
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. It also has a collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources
-
ARTBibliographies ModernIndexing & abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA This link opens in a new windowCitations (publication information) and summaries of art-related books, articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs. Period Covered: 4th century to modern
-
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowCovers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts. Disciplines covered include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Period covered: Mid-19th century to present Dates of publications: 1973 to present.
-
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull text of humanities journals. Full text of humanities journals.
-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertations from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author. Help Guide available.