Free Courses
-
Open.Michigan
Over 30 free courses from Michigan's School of Information on a variety of library-related courses. -
CourseraFree, live-time courses from various universities worldwide. Some (particularly under the category "Information, Tech, and Design") apply to library and information science.
Free Textbooks
-
Python for InformaticsOpen-access textbook, Python for Informatics, accompanied by course materials. Teaches Python programming for non-computer scientists. Made available by the author, known as Dr. Chuck.
-
NobaNoba is an online platform that provides open, ready-made psychology textbooks and the opportunity to build a textbook from freely available chapters. Users must create an account to use Noba.
Ebooks in the Library
The library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what is available, enter your subject in the library catalog followed by "ebooks." For example: "supply chain management" ebooks. Putting quotes around your topic area means the catalog will search on the phrase ("supply chain management") rather than each word separately.
Almost all of the library's ebooks are multi-user. This means that your whole class could access the book simultaneously and for free!
Resources
-
ePrints in Library and Information Science
E-LIS is an open access archive for scientific or technical documents, published or unpublished, on librarianship, information science and technology, and related areas. More than 14,500 documents are currently available. -
ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information ScienceAn extensive dictionary of library-related terms.
-
DLIST: Digital Library of Information Science & TechnologyMaintained by the University of Arizona, "DLIST is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences, including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science, Information Systems, Museum Informatics, and other critical information infrastructures."
-
Library and Information Science: A Guide to Online ResourcesCompiled by the Library of Congress, this list provides links to free online repositories and other full-text resources.
Tutorials
-
SJSU Library Online TutorialsVarious tutorials for SJSU students.
-
PRIMO DatabasePeer-Reviewed Instructional Materials Online Database. Has almost 300 resources, including YouTube tutorials, online tools, and even a graphic novel to teach information literacy and other library-related skills. Sortable by title, author, category, or date.