Race & Ethnicity

Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.

Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 Minutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources.

Covers key areas of education and related fields of study, as well as educational specialties, administration, funding and more. The database indexes nearly 1,025 periodicals, with records dating back to 1983. It also offers extensive resources on special education, featuring over 50 dedicated journals that address this critical field in depth.

Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Limited to 2 concurrent users

Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics span every level of education—from early childhood through higher education—and encompass a wide range of specialties, including multilingual education, health education, and assessment. The database also covers curriculum and instruction, as well as key issues in administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

America: History & Life is the major database on American history from pre-history to the present. Use it to find articles related to the Chicano/a experience in the United States.

Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.

A resource for core journals in sociology and related disciplines including criminology, ethnic studies and more. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

A broad array of social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields that cover addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies, and much more.

Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Because it is a citation index, you can use this tool to find articles that cite a previously published work, allowing you to trace an idea forward and backward in the literature. In addition to cited reference searching, you can search these databases by topic, author, and more. You may also create Journal Citation Reports - select the Databases or the Additional Resources tab.

The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.

Criminal Justice Abstracts covers criminal justice and criminology research. It provides indexing and abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

This resource, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database covers general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research.

PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. Document types include technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. Extensive coverage of gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences.

Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

Reference tool for U.S. and Canadian history and culture. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals from 1863 to present.

Criminal Justice Abstracts covers criminal justice and criminology research. It provides indexing and abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources.

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Also see MLA Directory of Periodicals

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.

Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports  and  Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.

A comprehensive index to 10 million+ biographical sketches in over 1000 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries. Covers both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

African American history and culture reference from authorities in the field, and giving African Americans a voice to share their experiences.

270+ newspapers covering life in the Antebellum South — abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment; and more.

Most comprehensive bibliographic resources for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference. Provides subject, author and title access to bibliographic and other sources related to Chicano/a art, education, folklore, health, history, labor, language & literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, sociology and women's studies. For more current materials check other databases.

A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinos. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.

From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 Minutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (1865-1922). From Jan 1, 1865 to Aug 31, 1868, known as The Daily Dramatic Chronicle; From Sept 1, 1868 to Aug 14, 1869, known as Daily Morning Chronicle; and from Aug 15, 1869, known as San Francisco Chronicle. Access is through ProQuest platform.

Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.

This is the major newspaper in Silicon Valley. The link above provides free access to some current articles. Subscription access is available from  Newsbank Mercury News Historical and Current (1884 to present) . Access is also available from  ProQuest Newsstand (2010 to 2016)  and  ProQuest Newsstream (2016-2019)

San Francisco Chronicle and San Francisco Examiner newspaper articles. Limited to staff-written material only--wire service and freelance articles are generally not included, nor are classified ads. Photo archive can be searched separately and some articles include pictures.

Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Because it is a citation index, you can use this tool to find articles that cite a previously published work, allowing you to trace an idea forward and backward in the literature. In addition to cited refe