Booklists in Print
The King Library houses a number of bibliographic resources containing select lists of children's and young adult literature compiled by subject, genre and intended audience. Below is a short selection of available titles.
-
-
Best Books for Children, Preschool Through Grade 6
by
Call Number: J REF 011.62 BarrISBN: 9781598847819Publication Date: 2014-11-01 -
-
Picture Books for Children
by
Call Number: Z1037 .C565 2012ISBN: 9780838911440Publication Date: 2012-03-01 -
-
Booklists on the Web
The following links represent only a small selection of the booklists for young people available on the web. While YALSA, ALSC and The Horn Book Magazine are established authorities in the field of children's and young adult literature, many smaller lists offer detailed book suggestions by theme, genre, topic and a variety of other criteria. Use the links below to start your search. You may also wish to look at the book reviews and lists of award winners provided separately under this tab.
-
ALSC Notable Children's Book Lists"Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books, recordings, and videos". Click this link to access both current and past lists.
-
Bank Street College of Education Best Books of the YearBook/list published annually on best children's books published the prior year, chosen by the Bank Street College of Education Children's Book Committee. Print copies are available through them as well.
-
California ReadsRather than just one day and just one book, "California Reads" will offer teacher-approved quarterly book recommendations for multiple age groups, including adults.
-
Children's Book by ThemesA wide selection of booklists organized by popularity, social issues / behavior and subject. Lists are compiled by parents, teachers and librarians for childrensbookguide.com and include both classic and new titles in all genres from fiction to nonfiction.
-
Children's Choice Reading List"Children themselves evaluate the books and write reviews of their favorites. Since 1974, Children’s Choices have been a trusted source of book recommendations used by teachers, librarians, parents—and children themselves." Sponsored by the International Reading Association. Click link to access current and past lists.
-
The Horn Book Magazine: Lists of Recommended BooksRecommended children's and young adult book titles compiled by the editors of The Horn Book Magazine.
-
Junior Library Guild Awards & ListsComprehensive guide that provides their own curated book lists along with links to various outstanding book lists.
-
NoveList PlusA subscription database available to SJSU students and faculty through SJPL King library. Contains recommended reading lists by genre, age, subject and theme. Search results can be narrowed by age for children and teens. Also includes articles, read-alikes, common core and award winners.
-
Rainbow Book ListThe Rainbow Book List is created by the Rainbow Book List Committee of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association. It presents an annual bibliography of quality books for youth birth-18, with significant and authentic GLBTQ content.
-
Teachers' Choices Reading ListSince 1989, the Teachers' Choices project has developed an annual annotated reading list of new books that will encourage young people to read. These are books that kids will enjoy—and that contribute to learning across the curriculum.
-
USBBY Outstanding International Books ListThe United States Board on Books for Young People presents an annual list of outstanding books first published in a country outside the United States. The site also links to additional USBBY and IBBY-related awards and lists.
-
VOYA Magazine OnlineVoices of Youth Advocates (VOYA) is a print magazine that publishes articles and book reviews for young adult librarians. Their website also includes a wide variety of book lists and reading recommendations.
-
YALSA Best Fiction for Young AdultsLinks to titles published for young adults in the past 16 months that are recommended reading for ages 12 to 18 by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA). Includes link to past lists archive.
-
Young Adults' Choices Reading ListSince 1987, the Young Adults' Choices project has developed an annual list of new books that will encourage adolescents to read. The books are selected by the readers themselves, so they are bound to be popular with middle and secondary school students. The reading list is a trusted source of book recommendations, used by adolescents, their parents, teachers, and librarians.