Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library: Women in the Arts: Educational Curricula, Guides & Associations

Educational Curricula, Guides & Associations

Center of the Study of Women in Television & Film
Please review the historical timeline of resources available online under the tab Resources:
http://womenintvfilm.sdsu.edu/research/
more...less...
CONTACT
Dr. Martha M. Lauzen
Executive Director, Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego, CA 92182
(619) 594-6301
lauzen@mail.sdsu.edu
From The Getty: Classroom Resources
Please review the depth of available resources listed under the Education tab.
National Art Education Association
Please scroll down to Helpful Downloads: Museum Education Weblinks & Resources. 21 pages of Classroom Resources featuring lesson plans & resources that assist teachers with integrating the Museum’s collections into their classrooms. Topics include heritage months, visual arts, and American history.
more...less...
CONTACT
901 Prince Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: +1800.299.8321 +1703.860.8000
Fax: fax+1703.860.2960
Email: info@arteducators.org
New York Women in Film & Television
"The preeminent entertainment industry association for women in New York, NYWIFT brings together over 2,200 women and men working both above and below the line. NYWIFT is part of a network of 40 women in film chapters worldwide, representing more than 10,000 members. NYWIFT produces over 50 innovative programs and special events annually, including the Muse Awards for Vision and Achievement, which honors women in front of and behind the camera, and Designing Women, which recognizes costume designers, makeup artists and hair stylists in the industry."
more...less...
CONTACT
New York Women in Film & Television
6 East 39th Street, Suite 1200
New York, NY 10016-0112
phone: 212-679-0870
fax: 212-679-0899
info@nywift.org
Women's Caucus for Art (WCA)
The Women’s Caucus for Art was founded in 1972 in connection with the College Art Association (CAA). WCA is a national member organization unique in its multidisciplinary, multicultural membership of artists, art historians, students, educators, and museum professionals.
Women in the Arts & Media Coalition
"The Women in the Arts & Media Coalition combines our member organizations' abilities and strengths, focusing on issues of concern to women in the arts and media. We are committed to being the link between our member organizations as we collaborate to empower women in our industry through advocacy, mentoring, networking, and events."
more...less...
CONTACT
EMAIL
info at womenartsmediacoalition.org (general info)

presidents at womenartsmediacoalition.org (co-presidents)

womenartsmediacoalition.news at blogger.com (blog post)

calendar at womenartsmediacoalition.org (calendar/event listing)

membership at womenartsmediacoalition.org (membership)

stageopps at womenartsmediacoalition.org (#stageopps)

screenopps at womenartsmediacoalition.org (#screenopps)

studies at womenartsmediacoalition.org (parity studies)

volunteer at womenartsmediacoalition.org (volunteer)

press at womenartsmediacoalition.org (press)
SNAIL MAIL
244 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2932, New York, NY 10001
212.592.4511 (voicemail)
Women in Film
Founded in 1973 as Women In Film Los Angeles, WIF advocates for and advances the careers of women working in the screen industries—in front of and behind the camera, across all levels of experience—to achieve parity and transform culture.

Women's Museums, plus miscellaneous collections

American Federation of Arts: 1850-1900 Women Artists in Paris
Seventy paintings by women of varied nationalities, ranging from well-known artists such as Berthe Morisot, Mary Cassatt, and Rosa Bonheur, to lesser-known figures such as Kitty Kielland, Louise Breslau, and Anna Ancher.
more...less...
UPCOMING VENUES
Denver Art Museum, Denver, CO: October 22, 2017–January 14, 2018
Speed Art Museum, Louisville, KY: February 17–May 13, 2018
Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, MA: June 9–September 3, 2018
Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archives (BAMPFA)
Be sure to check the Events page for monthly showings!
"Each year BAMPFA presents more than twenty art exhibitions, 450 film programs, and dozens of performances, as well as lectures, symposia, and tours."
more...less...
BAMPFA
2155 Center Street
Berkeley, CA
(510) 642-0808
bampfa@berkeley.edu
George Eastman Museum
Photography and film collections online.
Georgia O'Keefe Museum-Collections Online
The Georgia O’Keeffe Museum provides online access to digital publications, images and objects representing select items from the Museum’s Art Collection and Research Center Archives.
International Council of Museums (ICOM)
A distributed directory of online museums, including over 1400 in the U.S.A.
The Met Helibrunn Timeline of Art History: 18th-Century Women Painters in France
Several French women artists are featured on this online source: Adélaïde Labille-Guiard (1749–1803), Anne Vallayer-Coster (1744–1818), and Élisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun (1755–1842). A historical timeline is presented.
Mills College Art Museum, Oakland, CA
Mills College Art Museum is home to the largest permanent collection of any liberal arts college in the West.
more...less...
CONTACT
5000 MacArthur Blvd.
Oakland, CA 94613
510.430.2255
https://www.mills.edu/request-information.php
National Museum of Women in the Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) was incorporated in November 1981 as a private, non-profit museum.
NMWA presents diverse temporary exhibitions as well as a collection of 4,500 artworks by more than 1,000 women artists.
more...less...
Please review information of hours, accessibility, booking tours, library & archives, etc., from
VISIT tab: https://nmwa.org/visit
CONTACT
1250 New York Ave NW
Washington, D.C. 20005
202-783-5000
1-800-222-727
National Women's History Museum
"The Museum researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history."
Numerous artists are featured through many collections.
more...less...
Please see, under the tab for Education & Resources many categories: Biographies, Lesson plans, videos, history, women on the web, etc. for further information https://www.nwhm.org/education-resources/
CONTACT
National Women's History Museum
Administrative Offices
205 S. Whiting Street Suite 254
Alexandria, VA 22304
703-461-1920.
info@nwhm.org
San Francisco Women Artists
Each month, San Francisco Women Artists presents a juried themed show that brings a fresh curated collection of work to the Gallery, featuring contemporary art, a variety of ceramics, sculpture, and jewelry created by local artists.
more...less...
CONTACT
647 Irving Street at 8th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122
sfwomenartists@sbcglobal.net
415.566.8550