Engineering Databases
A database is a searchable collection of information. You can use the following databases to find engineering-specific journal articles.
-
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases. Here is a research guide to help you get started.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
-
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Covers electrical, electronic and computer engineering information in IEEE and IEE journals, magazines & conference proceedings. Note: You may see a green unlock icon that indicates full text access. WARNING: systematic downloads of the IEEE database or portions of the database are against the license agreement and will result in loss of access. Additionally, you may receive the following message: "You are viewing this page because you have reached a vendor mandated download limit."
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of computing. Good for computer science, computer and software engineering, and electrical engineering.
-
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new windowCovers sciences, social sciences and humanities. In addition to journal articles, SpringerLink also provides books and book chapters, which can be helpful for gaining background information on a topic.
-
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. It draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Database Search Strategies
As database users, we can optimize our searches using specialized search strategies. The following video demonstrates these strategies in Engineering Village, but they can be applied to most databases.
Can't Get an Article?
Sometimes the full-text of an article doesn’t appear in the database, but that doesn’t mean the library doesn’t have access to it. You can use the “Find It” button (embedded in the database record) to search the full library collection for the article, and see if we have it elsewhere.
If the library does not in fact have access to the article, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. The following video demonstrates this workflow.
Google Scholar
When you access Google Scholar, you can get access to the full text of the articles that San Jose State University Library subscribes to. In order to access full-text materials, please follow the steps below or watch this video to change the settings on Google Scholar.
- Sign into www.google.com/scholar using your SJSU e-mail account.
- Click on Settings → Library Links.
- Searchfor San Jose State University, check the box and click Save.
Once you have linked the library to your Google scholar account you may see a link, 'Find It@SJSU' on the right side of the article. Clicking on that link directs you to your library catalog where you can see the full text.
