The most comprehensive author biographies. Contains more than 156,000 author biographies including more than 22,000 in-depth bios. Best for contemporary authors.
More than 13 million citations to current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
This work consists of more than 2000 abbreviated entries pulled from the ten-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Most entries include suggestions for further reading. This e-book is available to all SJSU students.
Includes authoritative entries on Western philosophy. This e-book is available to all San Jose Public Library customers (you must have a library card to access this book).
Print resource. Valuable companion to study of Asian philosophies. Also a copy (1997) in King Reference (B121 .C66 1997) 181.003 COMPANIO - KING NONFICTION 3RD FLOOR
Print resource. Valuable source of background information on Philosophy for all levels. 8 volumes. Copy also in King Reference. B41 .E5 1996X - KING 6TH FLOOR
Full text of the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica (additional articles and images not available in the print set) and of Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged.
Dictionary-like entries on traditional ancient Eastern and Western philosophers, statesmen, and theologians, as well as important modern influences. Includes cross-references. This e-book is available to all SJSU students.
Includes entries drawn from West Africa, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Latin American, Maori and Native American philosophy. This e-book is available to all San Jose Public Library customers (you must have a library card to access this book).
Traces the evolution of the English language over the last millennium and includes definitions, history, and pronunciation of over half a million English words, present and past. Also known as OED.
Full text scholarly articles on literary topics, authors, and their works. Also includes reviews of books, biographies of authors, background essays on literary topics and full text versions of poems and short stories that have been published in contemporary journals.
