Begin Your Research with Reference Resources
If you are beginning research on a new project, useful overviews and bibliographies can be found in Oxford Art Online and the Met Museum's Timeline of Art History. For art specific questions, use the Oxford Art Online, which includes the Grove Dictionary of Art. For contextual information, including timelines, consult the Oxford Reference database.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press.
-
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2 ed.)A comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
Books, Ebooks and Articles
-
Art in Theory 1815-1900
by
ISBN: 0631200657Publication Date: 1998-03-16Art in Theory 1815-1900 provides the most wide-ranging and comprehensive collection of documents ever assembled on nineteenth-century theories of art. -
Nineteenth Century European Art
by
ISBN: 9780130457363Publication Date: 2002-11-01instructions: logon to Onesearch, click Hathi link, and Checkout
From artists Goya to Monet and Friedrich to Munch, and From the French Revolution to the Industrial Revolution and beyond, author Petra Chu charts the story of 19th-century European art and the driving forces that shaped it. -
An Introduction to Nineteenth-Century Art
by
ISBN: 9780415780704Publication Date: 2011-02-22Using the tools of the "new" art history (feminism, Marxism, social context, etc.) An Introduction to Nineteenth-Century Art offers a richly textured, yet clear and logical, introduction to nineteenth-century art and culture. -
Auguste Rodin
by
ISBN: 1283958929Publication Date: 2012-01-01Discover the creative power of one of the greatest sculptors of all time in this book, with text by the talented poet Rainer Maria Rilke, accompanied by a rich selection of beautiful images. This book showcases the most renowned masterpieces of this genius, who knew more than anybody how to immortalise his revolutionary rapport with the subject of his sculptural pieces and with the human body, almost bringing his subjects to life.
-
Sculpture and Theory in Nineteenth Century FranceThe Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, 1 October 1975, Vol.34 (1), pp.15-20
-
Review - Masterpiece: Paris OperaReview - Masterpiece: Paris Opera (1875) by Charles Garnier: Architecture as Allegory
Databases for 19th Century Art
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. It also has a collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources
-
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This archival database offers historical literature on a variety of art topics from the years 1929-1984. It provides access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
-
ARTBibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowIndexing & abstracts for modern and contemporary art of late 19th century onwards. Covers performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA This link opens in a new windowCovers art of Europe and the Americas (4th century to modern). Citations (publication information) and summaries of art-related books, articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs.
-
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowCovers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts. Disciplines covered include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Period covered: Mid-19th century to present Dates of publications: 1973 to present.
-
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.