Skip to Main Content
Databases (Open Access)
-
Africa Before Slavery (Timeline)
An interactive timeline of African history before the trans-Atlantic slave trade.
-
African American Online Genealogy Records
This is a collection of links to African American Online databases.
Online collections of African American records for family history or finding ancestry, including vital records, slavery or freedman's records, slave narratives, and genealogy.
-
Mapping Local Histories of Slavery
Mapping Slavery is a public history project that focuses on the Dutch history of slavery and its intersections of the past and the material
-
Musical Passages of the Slave Trade
Recreations of the songs, music, and voices of the transatlantic slave trade
-
Peoples of the Historic Slave Trade
With the help of scholars, educators, and family historians, Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade (Enslaved.org) is rapidly expanding in 2021. We are building a robust, open-source architecture to discover, connect, and visualize 600,000 (and growing) people records and 5 million data points. From archival fragments and spreadsheet entries, we see the lives of the enslaved in richer detail. Explore the data and life stories on Enslaved.org and read articles on data-driven research about the lives of the enslaved in the Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation.
-
Slave Voyages
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database now comprises 36,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, routes, and the people associated with them, both enslaved and enslavers. Sources are cited for every voyage included. Users may search for information about a specific voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, a timeline, and an animation.
-
Smithsonian Digital Primary Source Collections
The digital collection of Smithsonian sources relating to the slave trade - ranging from material culture (chairs, Confederate money, baskets, etc) to portraits and art.
Black Colonial History Podcasts
