Artists in California
-
The Modern Moves West
by
Exploring the transformation of California into a center for contemporary art through the twentieth century, this book dramatically illustrates the paths California artists took toward a more diverse and inclusive culture.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1283898934Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
The Not-So-Still Life - A Century of California Painting and Sculpture
by
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor N8251.S3 L36 2003ISBN: 0520239377Publication Date: Ebook (temp.) -
Facing Eden: 100 years of landscape art in the Bay Area
by
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor ND1351.5 .N29 1995ISBN: 0520203631Publication Date: 1995-07-03 -
Artists in California, 1786-1940
by
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor N6530.C2 H8 2002ISBN: 1884038085Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Archival sources
-
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
-
Calisphere: a world of primary sources This link opens in a new window
A public gateway to a world of primary sources, including those for teachers and lesson plans. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California. There is a section titled: Especially for Teachers which gives information and links about teaching and learning with primary sources, including sample lesson plans, primary source analysis sheets, etc.
-
SJSU Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowSJSU Digital Collections represent rare and unique materials held by SJSU Special Collections & Archives, the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies, and the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies.
-
Online Archive of CaliforniaIndex and holdings of archival materials in California libraries.
Newspapers
-
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (1865-1922). From Jan 1, 1865 to Aug 31, 1868, known as The Daily Dramatic Chronicle; From Sept 1, 1868 to Aug 14, 1869, known as Daily Morning Chronicle; and from Aug 15, 1869, known as San Francisco Chronicle. Access is through ProQuest platform.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
-
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFrom ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 Minutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream
-
Historic American NewspapersProvided by the Library of Congress, this allows searching and viewing of American newspapers from 1836-1922. Searching can be limited by State.