Special Database
-
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s. The collections also includes interviews, criticism, and journal articles.
Finding books
When searching the Library Catalog for books about graphic novels and their authors and illustrators, keep in mind that catalog records are very brief representations of information.
For example, subject headings about graphic novels will look like:
Graphic novels -- History and criticism.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- History and criticism.
If you are looking for discussion about a particular author or illustrator, try searching the name as a subject heading, or combine the name in a keyword search with concepts terms such as "criticism" or "interpretation."
Books from the Catalog
-
Seeing Comics Through Art History: Alternative Approaches to the Form
by
ISBN: 9783030935078Publication Date: 2022 -
Graphic Memories of the Civil Rights Movement
by
The history of America's civil rights movement is marked by narratives that we hear retold again and again. This has relegated many key figures and turning points to the margins, but graphic novels and graphic memoirs present an opportunity to push against the consensus and create a more complete history. Graphic Memories of the Civil Rights Movement showcases five vivid examples of this: Ho Che Anderson's King (2005), which complicates the standard biography of Martin Luther King Jr.; Congressman John Lewis's three-volume memoir, March (2013-2016); Darkroom (2012), by Lila Quintero Weaver, in which the author recalls her Argentinian father's participation in the movement and her childhood as an immigrant in the South; the bestseller The Silence of Our Friends, by Mark Long, Jim Demonakos, and Nate Powell (2012), set in Houston's Third Ward in 1967; and Howard Cruse's Stuck Rubber Baby (1995), whose protagonist is a closeted gay man involved in the movement. In choosing these five works, Jorge Santos also explores how this medium allows readers to participate in collective memory making, and what the books reveal about the process by which history is (re) told, (re) produced, and (re) narrativized. Concluding the work is Santos's interview with Ho Che Anderson.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781477318263Publication Date: 2019-06-15 -
101 Outstanding Graphic Novels
by
The popular primer on the best graphic novels, initially called The 101 Best Graphic Novels, is back in its third updated edition. Expert librarian Stephen Weiner--with the crowdsourcing help of professionals in the field, from artists to critics to leading comic store owners--has sifted through the bewildering thousands of graphic novels now available to come up with an outstanding, not-to-be-missed 101. With an all-encompassing variety of genres, including both fiction and nonfiction, this serves as a great introduction to this increasingly influential world of pop culture and entertainment while also serving as a reference list for fans on what they may have possibly overlooked.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1561639451Publication Date: 2015-04-01 -
Wordless books: the original graphic novels
by
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor NE1095 .B47 2008ISBN: 9780810994690 -
From Comic Strips to Graphic Novels
by
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor PN6710 .F75 2013ISBN: 9783110281811Publication Date: 2013-06-18 -
Drawing Comics Lab
by
Do you dream of becoming a comic artist? Drawing Comics Lab covers all of the basic steps necessary to produce a comic, from the first doodle to the finished publication. This easy-to-follow book is designed for the beginning or aspiring cartoonist; both children and adults will find the techniques to be engaging and highly accessible. Featured artists include: - James Sturm - Tom Hart - Jessica Abel - Matt Madden - Eddie Campbell - And many others Start your comic adventures today with Drawing Comics Lab!
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1610586298Publication Date: 2012-12-01 -
Manga and the Representation of Japanese History
by
This edited collection explores how graphic art and in particular Japanese manga represent Japanese history. The articles explore the representation of history in manga from disciplines that include such diverse fields as literary studies, politics, history, cultural studies, linguistics, narratology, and semiotics. Despite this diversity of approaches all academics from these respective fields of study agree that manga pose a peculiarly contemporary appeal that transcends the limitation imposed by traditional approaches to the study and teaching of history. The representation of history via manga in Japan has a long and controversial historiographical dimension. Thereby manga and by extension graphic art in Japanese culture has become one of the world's most powerful modes of expressing contemporary historical verisimilitude. The contributors to this volume elaborate how manga and by extension graphic art rewrites, reinvents and re-imagines the historicity and dialectic of bygone epochs in postwar and contemporary Japan. Manga and the Representation of Japanese History will be of interest to students and scholars of Asian studies, Asian history, Japanese culture and society, as well as art and visual culture
Call Number: NC1764.8.H57 M36 2013ISBN: 9780415694230Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Databases for Art and Design journals
-
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFull text scholarly articles on literary topics, authors, and their works. Also includes reviews of books, biographies of authors, background essays on literary topics and full text versions of poems and short stories that have been published in contemporary journals.
These databases access the journal literature for Art and Design.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles in literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, social science, mathematics.
-
ARTBibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowIndexing & abstracts for modern and contemporary art of late 19th century onwards. Covers performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
-
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowExplore the areas of art and design, Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies, architecture, urban planning, philosophy, geography and religion, modern languages and literatures, music, theatre, film and cultural studies. and more. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies