Databases for Design journals
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
A database dedicated to design covers new designers and the history of design and applied arts - Art & Architecture Source
This art research database covers fine, decorative, commercial arts and architecture. - Project Muse
Full-text scholarly articles in the disciplines of visual arts, cultural studies and more. - JSTOR Journals and Books
Extensive Ebook collections on a variety of topics. - Material ConneXion
Features 7000+ materials in eight categories. Describes the library's Materials Library.
Writing Help
-
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University provides writing resources, instructional material, and information to assist with many writing projects.
-
Excelsior Online Writing LabThe Excelsior OWL is unique in its multimedia support for writers. It offers a wide variety of interactive multimedia activities, quizzes, videos, interactive PDFs, and games – all designed to help writers understand important concepts about writing. Topics include the writing process, grammar essentials, and more.
-
The Elements of StyleFull-text online version of this well-known guide to English grammar and usage.
-
Purdue OWL ESL ResourcesWriting resources for ESL students from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.
-
Writing Your Research PapersLibGuide containing resources for writing a scholarly research paper.
Citation Styles
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. These resources refer to the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association:
Chicago style is used in books, magazines, newspapers, and other non-scholarly publications. The Chicago Manual of Style focuses on providing guidelines for publishing in general, and Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations focuses specifically on providing guidelines for student writers.
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the arts and humanities. These resources referto the 8 th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers:
Books about Art writing
-
The Art of Writing about Art
by
THE ART OF WRITING ABOUT ART is designed for ease of use and can serve as a quick reference for students writing various types of essays, research papers, exhibition reviews, or even examinations. The premise of the book is that students in all disciplines, not just English, should be required to write well and that their instructors should hold these writing assignments to high standards. THE ART OF WRITING ABOUT ART not only emphasizes skills in college-level composition, but also in verbalizing the experience of art-the historical, social, economic, and political forces that shape art and artists; art theory; and the interplay between artist and viewer.
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor N7475 .H83 2002ISBN: 9780155061545Publication Date: 2001-05-25 -
Visual Literacy
by
Acquaints students with the critical issues that shape the discipline of art. This book seeks to teach them to write about art from a variety of scholarly and rhetorical perspectives.
Call Number: SJSU Library 7th Floor N7476 .T83 2002ISBN: 9780072302226Publication Date: 2001-12-10
