5/21/24: The Doctor of Nursing Practice guide has a new URL. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.
Starting your research project
DNP Project Workbooks
-
The DNP Project Workbook
by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Streamlines the DNP Project into clear, concrete, and manageable steps Authored by nurse educators with an in-depth understanding of the challenges of the DNP Project, this text provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP Project process. By incorporating active learning activities into project development, the workbook delivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining the DNP Project. It fosters critical thinking and innovation, while also providing a means for faculty to measure and document the progress of project milestones. The DNP Project Workbook offers more than 100 activities that address all facets of the DNP Project, including the identification, investigation, and framing of problems; project team assembly; research; methodology; implementation; and dissemination. This resource also includes examples of a variety of DNP Projects to demonstrate the successful integration of all elements. The activities may be completed within the workbook or in online, editable PDFs for easy submission to faculty. Supplemental resources include PowerPoint slides, a DNP Essentials mapping document, and blank activities and templates.Key Features: Provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP Project process Offers more than 100 active learning activities that address all facets of the DNP ProjectDelivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining DNP Projects Facilitates measurement and documentation of project milestonesFeatures examples of a variety of DNP Projects Includes a robust resources package, including PowerPoint slides, a DNP Essentials mapping document, and editable activity formsPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: ebook (SJSU log-in required)ISBN: 0826174329Publication Date: 2019-12-28 -
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project
by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project, A Framework for Success, Third Edition guides students and faculty in the DNP project process. With a primary focus on delivering key information on planning, implementing, and evaluating a project, the text also emphasizes the impact that DNP-prepared nurses and well-developed DNP projects have in shaping the future of nursing. The Third Edition focuses on the evolution of the DNP degree by featuring AACN taskforce updates and reorganized content about the clinical scholar and practice scholarship. With chapters devoted to formulating a meaningful DNP project, from selecting appropriate project team members to the importance of communicating and disseminating the results of the project appropriately, it serves as a comprehensive guide for students and faculty alike. New to the Third Edition:* Updated historical perspectives* Overview of project variability* Coverage of project sustainability and measures of impact* New chapter on health policy, how policies impact practice, and how the DNP nursing role relates to advocacy* Navigate 2 Essentials Package features digital templates of the project tools
Call Number: ebook (SJSU log-in required)ISBN: 9781284156959Publication Date: 2019-03-11 -
Inquiry and Leadership: A Resource for the DNP Project
by
How do you... identify your scholarly project practice problem? assess and select the relevant literature and studies? evaluate the outcome? disseminate the information to ensure better care outcomes? Here's your guide to understanding, applying, and coordinating the process of evidence-based practice for your DNP scholarly or capstone project. Step-by-step, you'll learn everything you need to know to successfully complete your project and develop the leadership skills that enhance the DNP's role in practice. From the theoretical and philosophical foundation of evidence-based practice and collecting and analyzing evidence as the basis for practice through translating the research into solving a practice issue and evaluating the outcome, you'll have all of the tools you need to successfully complete your project and bring about changes in clinical, management, and educational practices.
Call Number: ebook (SJSU log-in required)ISBN: 9780803642041Publication Date: 2016-07-13
Coming up with a topic
-
SJSU ScholarWorks - CSU Doctor of Nursing PracticeSJSU ScholarWorks is a digital repository of digital works produced by SJSU faculty, staff and students. Check out past DNP projects for inspiration.
Brainstorming search terms
Mapping out your project
Analyzing your data
-
Routledge International Handbook of Advanced Quantitative Methods in Nursing Research
by
Designed to support global development of nursing science, the Routledge International Handbook of Advanced Quantitative Methods in Nursing Research provides a new, comprehensive, and authoritative treatment of advanced quantitative methods for nursing research.　 Incorporating past approaches that have served as the foundation for the science, this cutting edge book also explores emerging approaches that will shape its future. Divided into six parts, it covers: -the domain of nursing science - measurement--classical test theory, IRT, clinimetrics, behavioral observation, biophysical measurement -models for prediction and explanation--SEM, general growth mixture models, hierarchical models, analysis of dynamic systems -intervention research--theory-based interventions, causality, third variables, pilot studies, quasi-experimental design, joint models for longitudinal data and time to event -e-science--DIKW paradigm, big data, data mining, omics, FMRI -special topics--comparative effectiveness and meta-analysis, patient safety, economics research in nursing, mixed methods, global research dissemination Written by a distinguished group of international nursing scientists, scientists from related fields, and methodologists, the Handbook is the ideal reference for everyone involved in nursing science, whether they are graduate students, academics, editors and reviewers, or clinical investigators.
Call Number: ebook (SJSU log-in required)ISBN: 1315882302Publication Date: 2015-07-24
Setting Up Search Alerts
Since you will be working on your DNP project over time, it might be helpful to set up search alerts to be notified as new articles are published on your topic.
PubMed
CINAHL (and all Ebsco databases)
Finding Health Services/QI Research
-
Health Services Research (HSR) PubMed QueriesThe National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) has created specialized search filters to search PubMed for articles related to healthcare quality and costs. Select from the following categories: appropriateness, process assessment, outcomes assessment, costs, economics, qualitative research, and quality improvement.