Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library: Business Research Guide: Country Information

Databases from the Library

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data that covers demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. Click on My Subscription in top right corner of page to to discover what's included and available.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. company data covering approximately 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes: U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports; International company data. Online version of: Mergent industrial manual, Mergent international manual, Mergent bank & finance manual, Mergent OTC industrial manual, Mergent OTC unlisted manual, and Mergent public utility & transportation manual.
World Geography This link opens in a new window
A great source of information on a country's society, culture, and economy.

Global Road Warrior
This is a SJPL database, login with your San Jose Public Library Card . It is produced by World Trade Press. Information provided is very similar to Country Watch. It includes News Feeds with real-time updates.

PESTEL Defined

A PESTEL analysis examines a company's external environment using the six criteria shown at the left. This analysis is often used in an international context--because a business model that works well in the United States might not translate to another country's business culture--but it can also be used domestically.

The analysis will give you a feel for the opportunities and threats facing your firm. It should also uncover trends to watch in the future. With this information, you can decide how your firm can be most competitive.

Begin Here

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The Country Profile Series in Business Source Complete provides PESTEL analyses by country. To find them, click the Country Reports link in the Browse column on the right then search on [name of country].
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Choose the Country Reviews option about halfway down the main page for an easy and quick way to locate PEST information as well as demographics and environmental issues for the country of your choice.
Statista This link opens in a new window
At the top of the home page, search on [name of country] Country Report. For example, France country report. Reports may include information on the economy, trade, society, consumer behavior, infrastructure, and politics. Other databases you can use for your analysis are listed below by topic.

Free on the Web

CIA World Factbook
The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities, basically every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world..
CPI: Corruption Perceptions Index
“First launched in 1995, the CPI has been widely credited with putting the issue of corruption on the international policy agenda.” It is produced by Transparency International.
Global Edge
This site is hosted by Michigan State University, funded in part by US Department of Education, Title VI B Grant. It includes course materials that instructors can use for their classes. It has a wealth of resources including guided modules with case studies and narratives.
Google Search
Use Google to find country information. Make sure to inspect the accuracy and integrity of the information. Generally speaking, the following sites are more reliable: .org, .gov, .edu. Try a search such as Mexico site:gov.
International Monetary Fund
According to its website, IMF " is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world." Take a look at the IMF Data Mapper (link on the left) to find a country's GDP.