History

A FireFox extension that makes it easy to create citations.

The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.

Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.

Full-text scholarly articles in literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, social science, mathematics.

Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports  and  Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.

Covers several core subjects, featuring full-text articles from more than 3,000 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, dating back to 1994. Additional content includes indexing and abstracting for more than 5,100 publications and retrospective coverage dating as far back as 1982.

The Directory aims to cover all open access scholarly journals in various disciplines. History journals are included!

Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million rights-cleared images from around the world and composed of approximately 300 curated subcollections. Note: Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website retires on August 1, 2024.

Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Reference tool for U.S. and Canadian history and culture. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals from 1863 to present.

This database supports upper-division and graduate research on World History, Military History, Women's History, History of Education and many other related topics. It also provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. Also provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.

Online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Index to U.S. military and aeronautical periodicals.

Diaries, letters, memoirs, bibliography & other primary source material about the Civil War

The collection is drawn from archives around the country, documenting the lives of Union and Confederate soldiers. Includes photographs, posters, and ephemera of nineteenth-century Americana as experienced from social, military, and political perspectives.

A full-text database including over 10,000 pages of primary source material written by over 2000 different authors, all dealing with the experience of immigrating to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

This resource contains 150,000 pages of materials drawn from the letters and diaries of 1,325 women beginning with early Colonial period through to the 1950’s.

This collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history and currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Features scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and images of the indigenous peoples of the United States.

The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

This collection brings together approximately 40,000 pages of full text, photographs, songs for listening online, and other primary materials, along with video interviews and twenty-five critical documentary essays covering issues that came to the fore in the Gilded Age such as immigration and migration, racism and civil rights, labor and industry, women and universal suffrage, A American Indians, and the environment. Each documentary essay poses an interpretive question and then illuminates it with dozens of annotated primary documents, introductions, and essays.

Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of “military necessity,” the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.

The collections represent approximately 300 linear feet of archival materials that focus on some of the most striking events related to the treatment of minorities in U.S. history. The topics cover an enormous range of subjects central to Japanese-American life before, during and after World War II, including immigration, the California Alien Land Acts of 1913 and 1920, the War Relocation Authority (WRA), organizations supporting Japanese Americans, redress, Japanese Peruvians, hostage exchanges on the S.S. Gripsholm, sports, and the U.S. Army's 442nd Regimental Combat Team. Camps represented include Jerome, Gila River, Rohwer, Manzanar, Tanforan, Poston, Amache/Granada, Heart Mountain, Crystal City and more. Among the archives are letters, photographs, oral histories, camp publications, papers of camp administrators and counselors, poetry, art works, leases, certificates and other documents to prove citizenship, and school yearbooks. The project tends to focus on the digitization of paper, photographs, and media such as audio and video.

Search and browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses. This collection covers such historical events as Lewis and Clark’s Expedition, Burr’s Conspiracy and Arrest, the Treaty of the Creek Indians made by Andrew Jackson and much more. Also includes speeches and messages of Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison.  Note:  Please refer to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 database for post 1816 documents.

Online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Originally the personal library of the Brazilian diplomat, historian, and journalist Manoel de Oliveira Lima--the Oliveira Lima Library is a collection of Luso-Brazilian pamphlets covering topics such as colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature.

Primary source material (from the CIA, USIA, NSC, EPA), personal papers of U.S. presidents) related to the war in South East Asia as well as a wide spectrum of other material (MAC-V) dealing with American foreign policy in this tumultuous period.

Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 75,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 75,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials—150,000 pages total upon completion. The collection is further enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring richly annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by leading historians.

Offers exact reproductions of 700+ historical American newspapers from the period 1690-1900.

Digital collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. This collection provides research opportunities into subjects including the self-determination era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation from an Indigenous perspective. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. This resource was previously known as “American Indian Newspapers.”

The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.  Note:  Coverage includes May 17, 1934 - Dec 30, 2010 with exceptions (Jan 1, 1941 - Dec 31, 1945 not available) 

Access the New York Times website with your SJSU email address. Once you have created your NYTimes account, use it to sign into the NY Times website from anywhere. Includes interactives, video, and audio, plus digital images of the newspaper back to 1851.

A collection of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922. Includes the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a pilot project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.

Also known as America's Historical Newspapers. This collection focuses on 18th- and 19th-century newspapers.

Also known as America's Historical Newspapers. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820.

A public gateway to a world of primary sources, including those for teachers and lesson plans. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California. There is a section titled: Especially for Teachers which gives information and links about teaching and learning with primary sources, including sample lesson plans, primary source analysis sheets, etc.