Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library: Anthropology: Datasets and Statistics

General

Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
Searchable online version of the multi-volume work. Includes earliest known U.S. statistics on a range of subjects. Licensed resource.

Nation Master
General stats on different countries, including some comparative data on specific crimes.

OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Online library of e-books, e-periodicals, and interactive statistical databases produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

OFFSTATS Official Statistics on the Web
Provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new win
Based largely on census data, the Abstract covers many areas of American life, including some general crime statistics.
Statistical Resources on the Web
Excellent meta-source for data sets, arranged by general topic. Managed by the U. of Michigan Documents Center
UNData
Access point for various United Nations databases.
UNICEF Statistics & Monitoring
UNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis.
World Development Indicators
Licensed resource.

Columbia University Spatial Data Catalog: Titles held by CU that are suitable for GIS-mapping applications.
Geographic Names Information Service (US):Searchable geographic name database that provides type of feature (town, river, park, etc.), county, longitude and latitude, USGS topographic map sheet that shows feature and a general Tiger map showing location of feature within the US.
GeoMapApp: An earth science exploration and visualization application.
GIS Data on the Internet: Links to various GIS data sources
NOAA Satellite Information Service: Satellite data (NOAA) Atmosphere, Ocean, Land, Space, Hazards.
National Geologic Map Database: Housed under U.S. Geological Survey site and wonderful overview of all material.