Political Science

A full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics. With hundreds of full-text journals and thousands of conference papers, it is a valuable resource for political science researchers and government institutions.

Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.

Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in this database will gain insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.

A broad array of social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields that cover addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies, and much more.

A resource for core journals in sociology and related disciplines including criminology, ethnic studies and more. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.

Reference tool for U.S. and Canadian history and culture. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals from 1863 to present.

Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Because it is a citation index, you can use this tool to find articles that cite a previously published work, allowing you to trace an idea forward and backward in the literature. In addition to cited reference searching, you can search these databases by topic, author, and more. You may also create Journal Citation Reports - select the Databases or the Additional Resources tab.

Indexing a wide range of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences content for nearly 1,200 periodicals, 1,300,000+ citations and over 240,000 book reviews.

The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.

Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.

Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of “military necessity,” the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.

Discover a wealth of primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century (1943-1970). Based at Fisk University, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

This database contains monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, detailed author profiles and more. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.

The ABI/INFORM Collection includes three comprehensive databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Together, they provide access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business and economics publications such as The Economist and MIT Sloan Management Review. The collection also features in-depth country and industry reports, as well as major news sources like The Wall Street Journal. With broad international coverage, the ABI/INFORM Collection offers researchers a global view of companies, industries, and business trends. It also delivers valuable historical context, with content that dates back to the early 1900s.

Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications,

Thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets, 200 business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making. Thousands of interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations.

General news and company, industry, and other business information (mostly full-text) from newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals in 22 languages from 118 countries. Also includes color photos from Reuters and Knight-Ridder publications, company reports, SEC filings, web contents, and transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR and more.

From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 Minutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

A collection featuring California news sources including newspapers, university and college newspapers, web only content, blogs, newswires, and America's News magazines. The collection includes San Jose Mercury News. Coverage begins in 1985.

This is the major newspaper in Silicon Valley. The link above provides free access to some current articles. Subscription access is available from  Newsbank Mercury News Historical and Current (1884 to present) . Access is also available from  ProQuest Newsstand (2010 to 2016)  and  ProQuest Newsstream (2016-2019)

The Los Angeles Times (also known as the LA Times) is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the Western United States.

Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.

Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.

Alternative and independent media coverage. Independent voices and regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues from some of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals in the U.S. Approximately 260+ publications.

This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

Digital collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. This collection provides research opportunities into subjects including the self-determination era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation from an Indigenous perspective. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. This resource was previously known as “American Indian Newspapers.”

The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.  Note:  Coverage includes May 17, 1934 - Dec 30, 2010 with exceptions (Jan 1, 1941 - Dec 31, 1945 not available) 

CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data that covers demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. Click on My Subscription in top right corner of page to to discover what's included and available.

The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

General information on countries of the world, including overviews of the culture, environment, history, and government.

Finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.

The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Statistics are organized by themes, or topics, making it easier for you to find what you need.

Includes House & Senate Reports, Senate treaty documents and Senate executive reports, and presidential messages. To see documents before this date, refer to the American State Papers, 1789-1838.

A multi-disciplinary, comprehensive source which includes previously classified government documents from the White House and a variety of U.S. government agencies during post World War II through the 1970s. Also explores the political, economic, and social conditions during domestic and foreign events. Includes documents from presidential libraries.

Presents statistical & quantitative history of the United States from the earliest times to the present. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.

Contains 12,000+ primary and secondary sources, including 1,200 documents, 4,000 images, 200 maps, and 200 audio/video recordings covering the United States government and political system, including such topics as national security, civil rights, immigration, and health care reform.. This database American Government also provides over 2,100 biographies of important historical and current government figures.

Search and browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses. This collection covers such historical events as Lewis and Clark’s Expedition, Burr’s Conspiracy and Arrest, the Treaty of the Creek Indians made by Andrew Jackson and much more. Also includes speeches and messages of Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison.  Note:  Please refer to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 database for post 1816 documents.

Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives. All C-SPAN programs since 1993 are digital and can be viewed online for free. Duplicate copies of programs that have aired since 1987 can be obtained and used for education, research, review or home viewing purposes.

Legal research including cases, statutes, case law, court rules and regulations, and briefs for all U.S. jurisdictions. Also contains newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, government press releases, and transcripts of television and radio shows and congressional testimony. Coverage varies by source.

HeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,200 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, and much more.

Provides indexing for 1,200+ major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including 200+ titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac​​​​​​​, its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

SAGE Research Methods contains books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. The collection provides case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. Videos contain tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Note:  Faculty who wish to use “Teaching Notes” will need to create a profile and use a verification code.  Contact Ann Agee or Christine Holmes for the verification code.

CALSPEAKS* at Sacramento State is a unique and ongoing academic investigation of public opinion in California, emphasizing the social, economic, political, and environmental issues that distinguish our state. Learn more about CALSPEAKS

Social Explorer is a web-based mapping and data visualization tool that allows you to explore 500,000+ data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets. The interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand markets, voting, poverty, aging populations, ethnicity and race, spending patterns, health indicators, crime, environment, education, and more.

Provides access to over 1 million statistics for these topics: industries; consumer goods; internet; media & advertising; retail & trade; sports & recreation; technology & telecommunications; transportation & logistics; and travel, tourism & hospitality. Also available are government statistics, such as unemployment rates, births, and deaths. For business research, outlook reports, market research reports, country reports, dossiers, surveys, and industry reports are available. Note:  The platform is integrated with your SJSUOne account

Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 75,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 75,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials—150,000 pages total upon completion. The collection is further enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring richly annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by leading historians.

This is an archive of social science data (aging, population, economics, health, etc)  for research and instruction. The data files are to be used with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS.   Note:You need to create an account to gain full access.  At the website, please select Create an Account, then click the Google link and use your SJSU email address to be authenticated. You will get a one time set up code. Once your account is created, continue using the Google link to sign in using your SJSU credentials. Contact ICPSR-help@umich.edu for acct problems.

Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online delivers 66,000+ titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

A collection of independent, social-issue and environmental films from renowned leaders in documentary film Note: To see which videos the library currently has, click on the Log In link at the website, select San Jose State University, click log in and select My Movies. These titles are also in OneSearch.

Distributes online educational videos including documentaries, films, interviews plus a range of short video series. The videos are arranged by collections: Arts, Business, Communication/Media, Education (K-12), Health, Humanities, Science. Note: SJSU students, staff, and faculty: You will be asked to authenticate on and off campus. Kanopy uses copyright protection and DRM technology to block video streaming over platforms like Zoom. As a result, screen sharing is not permitted for restricted titles—viewers must watch individually, either outside of class or on their own devices during class. When screen sharing via Zoom, only the presenter is authenticated, so others will see a blank screen.

This collection of 1,300+ streaming videos includes documentaries and series from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.