New Books in the World Languages Collections
-
The Routledge Handbook of Spanish As a Heritage Language
by
The Routledge Handbook of Spanish as a Heritage Language brings together contributions from leading linguists, educators and Latino Studies scholars involved in teaching and working with Spanish heritage language speakers. This state-of-the-art overview covers a range of topics within five broad areas: Spanish in U.S. public life, Spanish heritage language use and systems, educational contexts, Latino studies perspectives and Spanish outside the U.S.¿ The Routledge Handbook of Spanish as a Heritage Language addresses for the first time the linguistic, educational and social aspects of heritage Spanish speakers in one volume making it an indispensable reference for anyone working with Spanish as a heritage language.
ISBN: 9781138833883Publication Date: 2018-05-08 -
Heritage Language Teaching
by
This innovative, timely text introduces the theory, research, and classroom application of critical approaches to the teaching of minoritized heritage learners, foregrounding sociopolitical concerns in language education. Beaudrie and Loza open with a global analysis, and expert contributors connect a focus on speakers of Spanish as a heritage language in the United States to broad issues in heritage language education in other contexts - offering an overview of key concepts and theoretical issues, practical pedagogical guidance, and field-advancing suggestions for research projects. This is an invaluable resource for advanced students and scholars of applied linguistics and education, as well as language program administrators.
ISBN: 1003148220Publication Date: 2021-11-29 -
Lituma en Los Andes / Lituma in the Andes
by
Ambientada en un remoto pueblo de montaña, Lituma en los Andes comienza como una novela policíaca sobre la desaparición de tres lugareños. El cabo Lituma y su ayudante Tomás sospechan de Sendero Luminoso, la organización guerrillera que viene sembrando el terror en el Perú. Pero la intriga adquiere visos inesperados cuando se descubren crueles prácticas ancestrales en la zona, y la narración va ganando dimensiones conforme las pesquisas se alternan con los recuerdos íntimos de los protagonistas. Con un virtuoso manejo de la trama, la psicología y los géneros, Mario Vargas Llosa ofrece al cabo una profunda meditación sobre la sociedad peruana y sus males históricos. La crítica ha dicho: «Una novela que penetra en el corazón de Latinoamérica».--The Washington Post ENGLISH DESCRIPTION Set in a remote mountain town, Lituma in the Andes begins as a detective novel about the disappearance of three locals. Corporal Lituma and his assistant Tomás suspect the Shining Path, the guerrilla organization that has been sowing terror in Peru. But the intrigue takes on unexpected overtones when cruel ancestral practices are discovered in the area, and the narrative gains dimensions as the investigations alternate with the intimate memories of the protagonists. With a virtuous handling of plot, psychology and genres, Mario Vargas Llosa offers a profound meditation on Peruvian society and its historical ills.
ISBN: 9788466358897Publication Date: 2022-01-18 -
Zhongguo gu dai duan pian xiao shuo xuan, xue xi jing xuan de zhongguo duan pian xiao shuo = Chinese short stories mandarin Chinese learning course HSK level 3
by
Chinese short stories mandarin Chinese learning course HSK level 3
ISBN: 9798889190080Publication Date: 2022-2023 -
Potosuraimu no fune ポトスライムの舟 / 津村記久子.
by
Potosu raimu no fune
ISBN: 9784062152877Publication Date: 2009 -
The Keys to Assessing Language Performance
by
Students continually ask, "Does this count?" "Is this on the test?" They want to know how they'll be evaluated. Discover how to answer these questions in ways that shape student learning and keep teaching focused on what really matters. Written by language expert Paul Sandrock, this superb manual clarifies precisely what language educators need to understand in order to successfully assess student performance. Relevant to new teachers and seasoned professionals alike, Sandrock provides step-by-step guidance on how to design assessments, illuminates the process of designing rubrics that focus on proficiency and helps educators create assessments that motivate students to offer language samples that accomplish authentic purposes. School administrators will also benefit from the section that focuses on the impact of performance assessment on instruction and program design.
ISBN: 9780970579836Publication Date: 2007-11-10 -
Interventions Autobiographiques des Femmes du Maghreb
by
Samira Farhoud analyse dans ce livre incontournable l'importance de la contribution de l'écriture autobiographique maghrébine au développement de la littérature francophone à partir de l'oeuvre d'Assia Djebar, de Sakinna Boukhedenna, de Fatiah, de Malika Oufkir et de Fatima Mernissi. Elle examine la complexité, l'hybridité et l'hétérogénéité du « je » autobiographique. Son étude archéologique et généalogique inédite du « je » décèle la richesse du genre autobiographique pratiqué par des auteures issues du Maghreb. Elle montre comment le « je » ramasse des traditions arabo-islamique, occidentale et cosmopolite. Cet héritage de traditions méditerranéennes est observé comme un « butin de guerre » sociolinguistique et socioculturel bien qu'une « séquelle » d'un amer passé colonial. Ce « métissage » de cultures se démarque par son ambivalence. Le « je » de Djebar, Mernissi, Fatiah et Boukhedenna s'oppose au paternalisme politique au nom des femmes et des « voix des femmes invisibles. » Le « je » devient un « nous » de « sororité » («sisterhood») entre les femmes. Toutefois, le « je » de Malika Oufkir reste délimité par le nombrilisme familial (le « nous Oufkir »). Le « nous » sera diasporique et liminal sous la plume (le qalam) de Sakinna Boukhedenna. Dans sa quête d'identité, elle rejette les concepts de citoyenneté et adopte une « Nationalité : immigré (e) » et réclame une nouvelle identité, celle d'une femme arabe libre sur « le chemin de l'exil » et de l'écriture. L'écriture autobiographique des femmes phares et élites comme Assia Dejbar et Fatima Mernissi et des écrivaines occasionnelles à l'image de Sakinna Boukhedenna, Fatiah et Malika Oufkir collaborent à la compréhension sociopolitique du Maghreb, de l'Europe et surtout de la France (l'ancien pays colonisateur) dans leur lecture et réécriture de l'Histoire (avec un grand « h »). Elles déconstruisent l'Histoire et l'autobiographie dans leur écriture et contestent les autorités paternalistes coloniales et nationales.
ISBN: 1453909362Publication Date: 2013-05-29
Finding Books at SJSU
To find a specific work of foreign literature, look it up by author or title in the SJSU Library Catalog.
Most works of foreign language and literature are found in the P Library of Congress call number range, located on the 7th Floor (university collection books). For example, PC includes the Romance languages, PD includes Germanic languages, PL includes languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, and Oceania, and PQ includes Romance literatures. Check out this online reference guide for more detailed information about the P call number range. In addition, the public library collection has a selection of language and literature books found in the 800 Dewey call number range, located on the 3rd Floor. The SJSU Special Collections has special collections of many first editions and rare books.
To find works related to foreign language and literature, search the SJSU Library Catalog by subject, using the name of an author or a topic. These are some examples of Library of Congress subject headings:
If you don't know the Library of Congress subject heading, search by keyword using a variety of terms that are relevant to your topic.
Finding Books at Other Libraries
CSU+ is a borrowing program between CSU campuses. CSU+ lets you request items from another library that are not available at the King Library or San José Public Library (SJPL) Branches.
Interlibrary Services
San Jose Public Library The SJPL catalog includes materials in many languages available from the MLK Public Library and SJPL's branches.
WorldCat