Key Characteristics of a systematic review
What is a systematic Review?
Authors conducting a systematic review attempt to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a given research question.
Key characteristics of a systematic review are:
- a clearly stated set of objectives with pre-defined eligibility criteria for studies
- an explicit, reproducible methodology
- a systematic search that attempts to identify all studies that would meet the eligibility criteria
- an assessment of the validity of the findings of the included studies, for example through the assessment of risk of bias
- a systematic presentation, and synthesis, of the characteristics and findings of the included studies.
Source: Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
Conducting systematic reviews
-
NIH Library's Guide to Systematic ReviewsThis online guide, offered by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), contains information sources, websites, and articles that can help you to conduct a systematic review.
-
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of InterventionsThe Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions. The current complete version of the Handbook is 5.1 (updated March 2011), edited by Julian Higgins and Sally Green.
-
Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA)PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
Finding Systematic Reviews
The database you will use will depend on your topic. Read the database description for subjects covered.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Download the user guide.
Note: Steps to create a personal account when off campus:
1. Go directly to the Cochrane library website [bypassing your Tower ID authentication].
2. Use the "Sign in" link in the top right corner to either login to an existing account or create a new account.
a. New Accounts: Complete the registration process and SJSU email validation. Then login to your account
b. Existing customers: Log in using your Cochrane Library personal login and password.
3. When you successfully login, this information will appear in the top right corner as Signed in as "your name"
4. Once you complete this login, then return to The Cochrane Library using the link that requires your Tower ID authentication. -
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowSearches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
-
ERIC via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature search engine. Set your library preferences: On the Google Scholar homepage, go to Scholar Preferences. At Library Links, locate San Jose State University. Add those links, then save the preferences.