Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library: Occupational Therapy Research Guide: Databases & Journal Articles

Most-Useful Databases

Best databases for the field of Occupational Therapy, listed in order of usefulness:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Coverage goes back to 1800 and also includes over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from approximately 2,050 periodicals in more than 25 languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier

ERIC (educational database)
more...less...
ERIC via Ebsco contains a variety of full text documents along with citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals. ERIC via Ebsco can be combined with other Ebsco databases by using the Choose Databases tab. If your research involves a school setting, classroom learning, or issues pertaining to school-aged children, please consider using this database alongside PsycINFO.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Download the user guide.

Note: Steps to create a personal account when off campus:
1. Go directly to the Cochrane library website [bypassing your Tower ID authentication].
2. Use the "Sign in" link in the top right corner to either login to an existing account or create a new account.
a. New Accounts: Complete the registration process and SJSU email validation. Then login to your account
b. Existing customers: Log in using your Cochrane Library personal login and password.
3. When you successfully login, this information will appear in the top right corner as Signed in as "your name"
4. Once you complete this login, then return to The Cochrane Library using the link that requires your Tower ID authentication.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.

Occupational Therapy Research Guide

Digital Object Identifiers (DOI)

Find a Known Article

Finding Theses and Dissertations

Most-Useful Databases