Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library: Biomedical Engineering: Find Articles/Databases

Find Articles, Standards, and Patents

FDA Guidance Documents

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Engineered Materials Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
CompuStat This link opens in a new window
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window

Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window

Technical Reports are issued or sponsored by government agencies, associations & societies, councils, foundations, laboratories, or academic institutions. The format provides rapid communication of new research results to the funder. The reports include detailed methodology and data in order to facilitate review of research results by others. Technical Reports are typically not peer reviewed, but generally are the result of another selection process (grant, contract, or institutional affiliation).

National Technical Reports Library - Provides access to a large collection of historical and current U.S. Government technical reports.
OSTI - U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific & Technical Information
DTIC U.S. Department of Defense Technical Information Center
EPA NSCEP National Service Center for Environmental Publications
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency Publications
NACA: National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics 1917-1958
NASA Technical Reports Server - aerospace-related technical reports created or funded by NASA
NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology
NTRL National Technical Reports Library
ROSA Repository & Open Science Access Portal United States National Transportation Library
TRAIL Technical Report Archives and Image Library
TRID U.S. Transportation Research Board and OECD Joint Transport Research Centre International Transport Research.
OSTI U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information Technical Reports

ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window

Parents are a potential source of keywords for industry jargon or terminology. Patent searching can reveal information about a process, technology, or product that may otherwise be proprietary or a trade secret.

The Lens
Contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia. Searches full-text, downloadable into RIS format.
Google Patents
The content is provided by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and consists of patents issued in the 1790s to within the last couple of months and millions of patent applications. The entire collection is full-text searchable. However, there were some errors in the scanning, leaving some text rendered incorrectly.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Public Search
European Patent Office
Esp@cenet contains European patents, World patents, and patent applications. Ability to search patents by origin country (i.e. CN for China). Downloadable and printable in PDF.
PAT2PDF
You must have a patent number, but a quick way to find a downloadable copy of US Patents.
Patent Scope
More than 68 million patent documents, including international patent applications, available through the World Intellectual Property Organization.
DEPATISnet
DEPATISnet is the database of the German Patent and Trade Mark Office for online searches on patent publications from around the world.

Follow this step-by-step procedure to connect Google Scholar to SJSU GetText within the university databases.
Go to Customizing Google Scholar (3 minute tutorial).

Set your preferences in Google Scholar.

Find Settings in the Menu (3 bars) at the top of the page and then choose Library Links on the left and search for San Jose State University.
Select "San Jose State University – FindIt@SJSU" and click the Save button.
Also, under "Settings" and "Search Results" you can set the Bibliography Manager to "RefWorks" and "Save" to import citations from Google Scholar directly into RefWorks.

MORE on Google - see the Advanced Google research guide.

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.