Africana, Asian American, Chicano, & Native American Studies Center
The Africana, Asian American, Chicano, & Native American Studies collections, located on the fifth floor of the King Library, represent the diverse cultural fabric of the San José State community.
Electronic Collections
SJSU's electronic collections are a particular strength and include over 2 million eBooks and 400,000 eJournals. These collections provide students and faculty in every field with access to the latest research.
SJSU Digital Collections
Unique digitized materials held by San José State University Special Collections & Archives, AAACNA, the Beethoven Center, and the Steinbeck Center.
Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies
The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies at San José State University is an extensive library and museum devoted solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827).
The Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies
Founded in 1973, the Center is the largest Steinbeck archive in the world, with over 40,000 items — manuscripts, original letters, inscribed first editions, film memorabilia, films, and over 1,400 photographs.
California Room
The California Room collects materials on California history with an emphasis on San José and the Santa Clara Valley. Topics include the Gold Rush, indigenous people, railroads, the earthquakes of 1906 and 1989.
Mark Trent Goldberg Memorial Library
Created in memory of Mark Trent Goldberg, creator of the Gershwin Archive, this collection includesover 2,000 items documenting the history of American musical theatre.
Portuguese Heritage Collection
This collection was donated in honor of the Portuguese community in San Jose, which began in the 1850s when Portuguese settlers arrived and built a strong community in the Santa Clara Valley.
Special Collections & Archives
SJSU Special Collections & Archives preserves rare and unique books, manuscript collections, institutional records, and more to support the research needs of students, faculty, staff, and the larger SJSU community.
General Collections
You can find books, journals, newspapers, and more from San José State University, the California State University system, and worldwide.
SJSU Digital Exhibits
A platform provided by the SJSU Library for students, faculty, and staff to create digital scholarship and digital humanities projects related to research, pedagogy, or coursework.
SJSU ScholarWorks
SJSU ScholarWorks is an institutional digital repository for collecting, sharing, and preserving theresearch, scholarly, and creative works of the SJSU community.
Dr. Harry Edwards Collection
The Dr. Harry Edwards Collection includes historic photos, autographed books, Olympic Project for Human Rights memorabilia, and correspondence from such luminaries as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and President Barack Obama.
Music Collections
Located on the 5th floor, the library's music collections include scores, books and recordings, with even more available online.
Sourisseau Academy
The Sourisseau Academypromotes local history by sponsoring research, educational programs, and publications, and rescues endangered archival documents.
Jo Bell Whitlatch History Collection
Associate Dean Jo Bell Whitlatch, who retired after 33 years of service to SJSU, was a champion for the library, building collections to provide exceptional service to students, faculty, and staff and to the greater San José community.