ENGL 1A Resources
Find Books, Articles, and More with OneSearch
Local Resources
The best way to be informed about your immediate community is to read the newspapers! In San Jose, try these:
-
San Jose Mercury News
San Jose's has been the city's newspaper since 1851! This award-winning daily news will keep you highly informed of local, national, and international news.
Many of the Merc's articles are being their paywall. If that happens, you can read the content through the libray's subscription to Newsbank. See link below. -
San Jose Mercury via Newsbank
Full-text articles from the San Jose Mercury, and many other news sources. -
The Spartan Daily
SJSU's daily paper is published in print and online -- one of the best ways to find out what's happening at your school!
Databases by Subject
The SJSU Library has subscriptions to more than 450 databases on numerous subjects.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
-
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
A collection of photos, images, video clips and audio files from the Associated Press. Coverage: 1895 until present.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
-
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. It draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
-
New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAccess the New York Times website with your SJSU email address. Once you have created your NYTimes account, use it to sign into the NY Times website from anywhere. Includes interactives, video, and audio, plus digital images of the newspaper back to 1851.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowProvides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Business news from local English-language business journals, newspapers and newswires covering many metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canada.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1 million statistics for these topics: industries; consumer goods; internet; media & advertising; retail & trade; sports & recreation; technology & telecommunications; transportation & logistics; and travel, tourism & hospitality. Also available are government statistics, such as unemployment rates, births, and deaths. For business research, outlook reports, market research reports, country reports, dossiers, surveys, and industry reports are available. Note: The platform is integrated with your SJSUOne account
MLA Citations
You're required to cite all of your sources, and, for this class, you're using MLA. You have multiple sources that will help you create MLA citations.
I need help citing sources in MLA format
MLA format is commonly used in the humanities. In MLA, you will cite information in two ways: in the body of your paper (in-text citations) and at the end of your paper (the Works Cited page). Here are some resources to help you cite in the correct MLA style:
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a useful and comprehensive guide to citing different types of sources in MLA format.
Prefer videos? Watch this introduction to MLA citations from CSU Dominguez Hills:
https://youtu.be/o7MyM_V8-EA
Microsoft Word also offers MLA style templates you can download and use to format your paper. Click File>New and search on MLA style in the template search box.
Machine-Generated Citations
There are several ways to find citations using online tools. DO NOT TRUST THESE CITATIONS! Garbage in, garbage out. You should always double-check what you find to make sure it is the correct format and correct information. That being said, machine-generated citations are often a good source for the basics, such as title, author, and publication date.
After running a search, click on the title of the article or book you are citing to open the record. In the record, you will see a Citation link above the title.
After running a search, click on the Cite link below the description.
Many library databases offer a cite option, and this option will appear usually after opening an article record. Here is an example for where to look in an EBSCO database:
REMEMBER: ALWAYS DOUBLE-CHECK MACHINE-GENERATED CITATIONS. DO NOT TRUST THEM.
Reach Out!
You have a whole team of people to help with your assignments!
-
Jane DodgeEmail me or set up a Zoom appointment!
-
Peggy CabreraReach out to Librarian Peggy Cabrera, the English and Comparative Literature Librarian!
-
SJSU's Writing CenterThey have appointments and drop-in hours!
Free Textbooks
Textbooks available as eBooks in the Library is a list of textbooks that are available to students for free as library ebooks. For other assigned reading that may be available in the library, check the course reserves catalog by course or professor and OneSearch.