History Resources for Teachers

Since 1994—under the founding direction of Roy Rosenzweig—the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media has worked to create software and websites that are freely available to the public. Its mission is to We use digital media and computer technology to democratize history: to incorporate multiple voices, reach diverse audiences, and encourage popular participation in presenting and preserving the past.

A thorough collection of books, journal articles, websites and primary sources on Colonial American topics. The big drawback to this site is that is is set up as one long list, and only searchable with your web browser (usually CTRL-F), which can only find exact words.

H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web.

Sponsored by the College of William and Mary and Colonial Williamsburg, this site provides recent tables of contents from the William & Mary Quarterly (WMQ), a journal of American History, which covers history to 1820, and access to their newsletter.

Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.

A rich resource full of primary source materials including court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, wills, town plans, maps, fort plans and more. Also included is a section in Grave Art in New England, which compliments the Farber Gravesite Collection.

An extensive list of politically significant 18th Century Documents, these transcriptions provide insight into the political climate of 18th Century America. Highlights include the early state constitutions, the federalist papers, Notes on the Federal Convention of 1787, and Washington's presidential papers.

Although specific to Connecticut these public records are excellent primary source material, and can reveal a great amount about the colonies.

The Virtual Jamestown Archive is a digital research, teaching and learning project that explores the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and "the Virginia experiment." Although still a work in progress, this resource provides digitized copies of materials such as deeds, contracts and maps.

Over 1,700 documents by or to Jefferson, all of which are keyword searchable. Also includes Quotations, Bibliographies, and a list of Jefferson Organizations.

A collection of images related to the experiences of Africans in the Americas, and their descendants, this is a searchable database which is also arranged by eighteen subject categories.

Full text translation of The Jesuit Relations, a work completed by Jesuit priests which is considered the authority on New France and native people from the mid to late 17th Century.

This site contains 13,500 images of more than 9,000 gravestones, most made prior to 1800.

A collection of images with descriptions. These are digital reproductions of prints made from a series of copper plates depicting Native Americans. The prints were based upon watercolor paintings done by John White in the sixteenth century.