Articles & Databases
-
The Lion and the UnicornScholarly journal available to SJSU students and faculty through King Library --> Articles & databases --> Project Muse
-
Marvels and TalesScholarly journal available to SJSU students and faculty through King Library --> Articles & Databases --> Project Muse. Limited open access to current issue available through journal website. See link in box below.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearchable database containing scholarly articles and reviews on various fields in children's literature. Available to SJSU students and faculty through King Library.
Scholarly Sources
Fairy tales are widely studied through many disciplines, from literary to sociological. The scholarly resources contained on this page are a good place to start your research in this area.
-
Grimms' Bad Girls and Bold Boys: The Moral & Social Vision of the Talesby Ruth B. Bottigheimer. Analyzes how the Brothers Grimm represented girls versus boys in their storytelling.
-
The Interpretation of Fairy Talesby Marie-Louise von Franz. Induction to critical / psychological theories of interpretation by prominent authority. Call Number GR550 .F714 1996
-
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Talesed. Jack Zipes. Provides authoritative reference source for fairy tale study. Call Number PN3437 .O94 2015
-
The Uses of Enchantment:The Meaning and Importance of Fairy Talesby Bruno Bettelheim. Foundational study of fairy tales and their importance in understanding psychology and childhood development. Call Number GR550 .B47 2010
Anthologies & Collections
Fairy tales and their variants can be found in nearly every cultural tradition. Below is a small selection of the SJSU King Library's fairy tale anthologies and collections.
-
Beauties, Beasts and Enchantment: The Classic French Fairy Tales
by
Call Number: 398.2109 BeautiesISBN: 1861712510Publication Date: 2009-10-01 -
-
Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm
by
Call Number: GR166 .K5613 2012ISBN: 067002497XPublication Date: 2012-11-08 -
Favorite Folktales from Around the World
by
Call Number: 398.2 F2752fISBN: 0394543823Publication Date: 1986-10-12 -
Web Resources
-
EDSITEmentThe National Endowment for the Humanities offers EDSITEment, a resource for lesson plans and other resources on a number of subjects. The Literature and Language Arts category includes a "Fables, Fairy tales and Folklore" subtopic and simply searches bring up additional student resources.
-
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Textscompiled by D.L. Ashliman. Hundreds of tales grouped by tale type. Tales with related themes across different cultures with biographies of writers and links to texts.
-
Marvels and Tales WebsiteWebsite for prominent fairy tale journal. Includes pdf's of current issue's articles and reviews. Archives available to SJSU students and faculty through King Library Articles & databases --> Project Muse. See box above.
-
Sur La Lune Fairy TalesComprehensive website featuring 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures and modern interpretations.