Humanities

This is the first museum in the world devoted to Arab American history and culture. Its mission includes educating the public on the history of Arab Americans and their presence in the United States. AANM seeks to dispel misconceptions about Arab Americans and other minorities. Its extensive collections center on immigration, cultural identity and assimilation. The collection spans 130 years, from the early immigrants of the late 19th and early 20th centuries to the present day.

Resources for the study of the Middle East sponsored by the Department of History, SUNY-Albany.

Information for the study of Islam, Qur'an, hadith, the Sunnah, Shi'ism and Heterodox Movements Sufism and Sufi Poetry Islam in the modern world, militant Islam, jihad, Islamist or extremist Muslims, and terrorism, Islam in Iraq, Muslim women, Islamic art, architecture, music, as well as Islamic history, theology, philosophy, and Arabic and other Islamic languages such as Persian, and religion in general.

The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East through the region's media. MEMRI bridges the language gap which exists between the West and the Middle East, providing timely translations of Arabic, Persian,Turkish, Urdu-Pashtu media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East.

Membership in MEOC is open to all individuals, institutions, and organizations interested in improving teaching and resources about the Middle East. MEOC members include: precollegiate teachers college and university students and professors university-based Middle East outreach centers Middle East area experts nonprofit organizations corporations

OACIS (Online Access to Consolidated Information on Serials) is a union list of serials from or about the Middle East. The mission of OACIS is to improve access to Middle Eastern serials in libraries in the United States, Europe, and Middle East. OACIS is international in scope. The records will be searchable in non-Roman alphabets.

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. Funded by New York University Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to expose up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years. NYU and the partner institutions are contributing all types of material—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections. ACO will provide digital access to printed books drawn from rich Arabic collections of prominent libraries.

This collection has over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century. Thes lides focus on mostly the Mudejar style, an ornate court style inspired by Spanish Islamic architecture in Islamic, Jewish, and Christian cultures of the Middle Ages.

The Middle East Institute of Columbia University, founded in 1954, has helped to set the national pace in developing an interdisciplinary approach to the study of the Middle East from the rise of Islam to the present, with a primary focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Fostering an inter-regional and multi-disciplinary approach to the region, the Institute focuses on the Arab countries, Armenia, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Central Asia, and Muslim Diaspora communities.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.