Humanities

Online (web):

• Internet Sacred Text Archive: Buddhism
• Internet Sacred Text Archive: Hinduism
• Internet Sacred Text Archive: Confucianism and Traditional Chinese Beliefs
• Internet Sacred Text Archive: Taoism
• Internet Sacred Text Archive: I Ching
• Internet Sacred Text Archive: Shinto and Japanese Religions
• The Analects (Lun Yu) (attributed to Confucius)
• The Fundamentals of the Middle Way (Mulamadhyamaka-Karika) [a foundational text of the Madhyamaka School of Mahayana Buddhism]
• nothingistic.org (includes works by Confucius, Laozi, and Mencius)
• The Mahabarata (requires user registration to view)
• Mahayana Buddhist Sutras in English
• The Nilamata Purana  [a Hindu scripture]
• The Twenty Verses  [a foundational text of Yogacara Buddhism]
• Yoga Sutras of Patanjali  [the foundational text of Hindu Yoga]
• Access to Insight: Readings in Theravada Buddhism

Online (SJSU):

• Leaman, Oliver, ed. Eastern Philosophy: The Key Readings. London: Routledge, 2000.

Books in the King Library:

• The Pali Canon [Theravada Buddhist Scriptures]. Oxford: Pali Text Society, 1997-2005. [King Ethnic Studies Reference 5th Floor BQ1332.E54 D38 1997]
• Sacred Books and Early Literature of the East, 12 vols. New York: Parke, Austin & Lipscomb, 1917. [King Reference 2nd Floor PJ 408 .S3]

Online (web):

• Center for Reformed Theology and Apologetics (all the content on this site is potentially primary in nature, but see especially the link to Historic Church Documents)
• sermonindex.net (access Christian sermons in video, text, or audio formats)
• BibleGateway.com (a tool for reading and researching scripture online; provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in scripture based on keywords, phrases, or scripture reference)
• Christian Classics Ethereal Library (writings by the Church Fathers and other classic Christian writings)
• The Dead Sea Scrolls at the Gnostic Society Library
• Book Illuminations from the Reichenau Monastery  (Bavarian State Library)
• The Bible [Latin Vulgate], with King James translation

Books in the King Library:

• Bettenson, Henry Scowcroft. The Early Christian Fathers; A Selection from the Writings of the Fathers from St. Clement of Rome to St. Athanasius. London, New York: Oxford University Press, 1956. [King 6th Floor BR63 .B4]
• Charles, R. H., ed. The Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament in English. 2 Vols. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1968. [King Reference 2nd Floor BS1692 1968]
• Pritchard, James B., ed. Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1969. [King Reference 2nd Floor BS1180 .P83 1969]
• Richardson, Cyril Charles. Early Christian Fathers. Philadelphia: Westminister Press, 1953. [King 6th Floor BR60 .R5]

Online (web):

• Al-Islam.org (Shi'a)
• IslamiCity.com (Sunni)
• Center for Muslim-Jewish Engagement: Religious Texts
• Islam and islamic Studies Resources (links to both primary and secondary source materials)
• Islamic Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art
• The Koran (proximity and boolean searching enabled)

Books in the King Library:

• Abdel Haleem, M.A.S., trans. The Qur'an. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. [King 6th Floor BP109 2004]
• Ali, A. Yusuf, trans. The Holy Qur'an. Indianapolis: American Trust Pubns. for the Muslim Student's Association of the United States and Canada, 1977. [King 6th Floor BP109 1977x]
• Khalifa, Rashad, trans. Quran: The Final Testament. Tucson: Islamic Productions, 1989. [King Reference 2nd Floor BP109 .K44 1989]
• Sells, Michael, trans. Approaching the Qur'an: The Early Revelations. Ashland, OR: White Cloud Press, 1999. [King Nonfiction 3rd Floor 297.1226 Quran]

Online (web):

• Babylonian Talmud, digitized Parchment Manuscript, France (?)  1342 (Bavarian State Library)
• The Dead Sea Scrolls at the Gnostic Society Library
• Center for Muslim-Jewish Engagement: Religious Texts
• Navigating the BIBLE II (Journey into the world of the Jewish Bible)

Books in the King Library:

• The Dead Sea Scriptures, with introd. and notes by Theodor H. Gaster. Garden City, N.Y. Anchor Books, 1976. [King Reference 2nd Floor BM487 . A363]
• Tanakh: The Holy Scriptures [The new JPS translation according to the traditional Hebrew text]. Philadelphia, PA: The Jewish Publication Society, 1985. [King Reference 2nd Floor BS895 .J4 1985a]
• The Talmud [Talmud Bavli]: the Steinsaltz Edition. Commentary by Adin Steinsaltz. New York: Random House, 1989- [King Reference 2nd Floor BM499.5 .E4 1989]