Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library: Humanities: Articles and Databases

Most Useful

Not sure which database to use for your specific project? Contact me for customized advice or Ask a Librarian

Need help accessing these resources? Get technical assistance from Student Computing Services

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
African American history and culture reference from authorities in the field, and giving African Americans a voice to share their experiences.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
270+ newspapers covering life in the Antebellum South -- abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.
America: History and Life with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Reference tool for U.S. and Canadian history and culture. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals from 1863 to present.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Features scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and images of the indigenous peoples of the United States.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. The subscription also includes access to the ebooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies collection covering diversity, equity and inclusion.
JSTOR Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
documents the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a robust collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. On the controversial issues shaping the modern Latino American experience—such as immigration reform, media portrayals, and voting access and influence—credentialed academics offer varied perspectives to serve as both sources and exemplars of scholarly argumentation.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.

Also Useful

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
African American history and culture reference from authorities in the field, and giving African Americans a voice to share their experiences.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent media coverage. Independent voices and regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues from some of the most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals in the U.S. Approximately 260+ publications.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Features scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and images of the indigenous peoples of the United States.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at UC Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience with selective indexing dating back to early 1900s. Coverage of the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants begins with 1992 onwards. Covers Chicano/a art, education, folklore, health. history, labor, language & literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, sociology and women's studies.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
documents the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a robust collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. On the controversial issues shaping the modern Latino American experience—such as immigration reform, media portrayals, and voting access and influence—credentialed academics offer varied perspectives to serve as both sources and exemplars of scholarly argumentation.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 250 volumes of reviewed material, images, lesson plans, overviews and more about American and world pop culture and history.